Drabble Day – Race

Hey everyone,
I’m still late in the reading and commenting of the various stories. The good news is that my amount of lateness has diminished: I’m missing only Memory and Name. To my defense, I worked overtime last week and slept most of the weekend away. This week should see all come back to normal.

Here is how the drabble challenge works!

  • Read the prompt and find your angle.
  • Write a drabble (100 words story, give or take five words).
  • Post a direct link to your drabble in the comments (or, if you don’t have a blog, just go ahead and post your drabble in the comments).
  • In the post on your blog, make sure to link back to this post.

Today’s theme is: Race!

Here is my ‘Name’ story that didn’t get posted last Friday because of my week. My story for Race will probably just appear next Monday but, hopefully, I’ll post the next drabble the same day and be all up to date by then. 😉

Name
Hardly anything ever weighed so much as that name. Yelled in public, it drew tears and sometimes blood. Murmured between a pillow and a moan, it wetted some of the most proper ladies. They would never admit it, of course. Neither would the men who rose to the idea the name suggested.
To those like me who endorsed it more or less willingly, that name meant basic amenities; a little money for food and a roof. Independence too, perhaps. Yet its leaden weight across our shoulders pulled us restlessly toward the bottom of the canal, smothered our every breath.
Whore.

 

 

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

27 responses to “Drabble Day – Race

Leave a comment