Ready, Set, Script!

Do you know what today is? Yes, that too but I’m referring to the beginning of Script Frenzy! The Office of Letters and Light, who are also behind the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), challenges writers around the world to write a hundred pages of script (either one project or several, be it film, tv show, play, comics, etc.) during the month of April. It’s been about ten years since I wrote a script (unless you count Enlightenment last year) but I’ve decided to take on this challenge.

Mostly because an image popped in my head.

For some obscure reason, about a month ago, a pair of sneakers skidded to a stop on a beach. Hands caught a bowl in extremis. Liquid sloshed. Pants dropped. A faceless-sexless-plotless-trouserless-nameless main character yelled: “You’re the worst partner EVER!”
Since then, sneakers became knee-high black Converse. The beach surrounded the Santa Monica Pier. The bowl turned out to be glass. The liquid? Magical! The pants? A favorite – and pricey – jeans. The main character ended up being a 24 years old witch named McKaylee – more often called Mac -, and that partner’s now a punchline.
And apparently, Miss Story wants to be a TV show. Oh well…
How could I possibly resist the call to write that?

I’m still missing a title and my outline is only halfway completed but hey, I’ve done more with less (the Absurd Fables, among other things).
I’ll probably post the  teaser (that part before the opening credits) next Friday.
And then you can tell me if you would watch that show. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

8 responses to “Ready, Set, Script!

  • Andrew Carson

    Sounds very intriguing Aheila I can’t wait to hear more about it! Everything I seem to start these days goes from being dark and interesting to becoming sloshy and sappy within the first act, haha, the only price of being happy in my life is the dark part of my mind seems to not want to play anymore, oh well my first rom com it is then –shrugs- lol.

    • Aheïla

      I’ll definitely post the teaser next Friday so that should give you a better idea of where I’m going with this.
      It’s good that you’re in rom com mood. 😉 May it last!

  • Tara Tyler

    Sounds like a fun story! Good luck =)
    I thought about doing that challenge and those NANO-NANOs, but I have to write at my own pace. I can do quick & short (hence the PAD & A-Z challenges I’m trying), but what you’re doing requires more intensity and thought. You’ll do great!

    • Aheïla

      Thanks!
      NaNoWriMo and Script Frenzy definitely require discipline, which is part of the reason why I’m doing this (as in the blog AND the challenges). It is intense but it feels so good once you’re done!

  • Sketching Girl

    It sounds great, Aheila! I think this is the first year since starting the Nano ScriptFrenzy’s that I’m not actually taking part in. I wanted to work on my fiction writing skills instead, though I do love the fun feeling of writing with everyone else at the same time and challenging myself to writing a set number of pages in a crazy timescale! Good Luck with yours! 🙂

    • Aheïla

      It’s a great challenge indeed. I also like the community feeling. Personally, the script comes as a nice change of pace in my writing life. I think it might be just what I need to go back to my other projects with renewed passion.
      Thanks for the support!

  • Sketching Girl

    Oops, I meant “Prose” writing!

Leave a comment