Life Update (Bilingual)

En français plus bas. 😉

Hi everyone,

I’ve now been in Melbourne for a week and a day, and have hit the midpoint of my first work week at FireMonkeys (also known as EA Melbourne). I wouldn’t say that I’m completely settled in, yet –it’ll take a couple of weeks to fall into a routine– but there’s definitely some stability on the horizon. Yay!

After the little stress caused by my carry-on and its fragile computer components being checked in, I caught all my flights and arrived in Melbourne as planned. Warm weather, warm welcome, warm shower, and 30 hours in transit and 16 hours of jetlag wrestled my face to a pillow. I did some reconnaissance the day of my arrival and slept in intervals to get on the Australian clock as fast as possible. Last Wednesday, I purchased the essential power cords, monitor and whatnots, and jumped for joy when The Smurf, my computer cheekily named after my hair color by my little brother, beeped to life. By Thursday, I had everything unpacked, the jet lag beat and the arrival paperwork taken care off.

I’m getting good at this relocation thing.

Monday brought the first day at the office which, as far as I can tell, is filled with wonderful, easy-going professionals. Conversations flow naturally from work stuff to getting to know one another, all with equal passion and spark. The office coffee machine looks straight out of a Starbucks, but a coworker kindly made my first cup and showed me how to operate the stainless thingamabobs. Though I’m still at the “read everything, listen, learn” stage, I’m beginning to see how I fit here, both personally and professionally.

Okay, okay, truth be told, they had me the moment I saw the Minion drawn on our chalkboard. The world can use more random appearances of Minions.

As far as my writing is concerned, I’m a tiny bit behind what I would like, but within the goals I set for myself. The Quirks may only be posted here in late March, but that’s still Q1. The edits on Oil and Boiling Water are on track although Critique Circle will get Chapter 5 late and 6 right after; I had time to edit, but not to critique enough stories to have all the credits I need to submit.

Done rambling now! Time for pictures!

2014-11-17 13.25.082015-01-12 18.49.35

My temporary front lawn went from one extreme to the other. 😉

***

Mon entrée temporaire est passée d’un extrême à l’autre. 😉

Bonjour tout le monde!

Je suis maintenant à Melbourne depuis une semaine et un jour, et j’ai atteint le milieu de ma première semaine chez FireMonkeys (aussi connu sous EA Melbourne). Je n’irai pas jusqu’à dire que je suis complètement établie –ça prendra bien quelques semaines pour me trouver une routine– mais je vois définitivement de la stabilité à l’horizon. Yay!

Après le petit stress causé par l’enregistrement forcé de mon baggage à main et ses fragiles pièces d’ordinateurs, j’ai attrapé tous mes vols et suis arrivée à Melbourne comme prévu. Climat chaud, accueil chaleureux, douche, et mes 30 heures de voyage et 16 heures de décalage m’ont cloué le visage à l’oreiller. J’ai fait un peu de reconnaissance le jour de mon arrivée et dormi en interval pour m’adapter à l’horloge australienne aussi vite que possible. Mercredi dernier, j’ai acheté les essentiels (fils, écran et autres) et ai sauté de joie quand le Schtroumpf, mon ordinateur comiquement nommé par mon petit frère Benjamin, s’est allumé. À la fin de la journée de jeudi, j’avais déballé tous mes baggages, battu le décalage et réglé toute la paperasse d’arrivée.

Je m’en viens bonne à ce truc de relocalisation.

Lundi a amené ma première journée au bureau qui, autant que je puisse en juger, est rempli de professionels merveilleux et décontractés. Les conversations coulent naturellement du boulot au présentations, tout cela avec passion et électricité. La machine à café du bureau semble sortie tout droit d’un Starbucks, mais un collègue m’a gentiment fait ma première tasse en me montrant comment opérer les cossins en inox. Bien que j’en sois encore à l’étape “lis tout, écoute, apprend”, je commence à voir comment cet endroit est le mien, autant personnellement que professionnellement.

D’accord, d’accord, en vérité, ils m’avaient dès que j’ai vu le Minion dessiné sur notre tableau à craie. L’univers a besoin de plus d’apparitions impromptues de Minions.

Pour ce qui est de mon écriture, je suis un peu en retard sur ce que j’aimerais, mais à l’intérieur des objectifs que je me suis fixée. Comme toutes mes histoires sont en anglais, je me doute que le reste de mon message vous sera plutôt obscure même si je le traduis. Il faut avoir suivi mon blog pour comprendre cette partie.

Vous n’avez pas ces détails, mais, à la place, je vous donne des câlins. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

Leave a comment