WeWriWa – University & Thieves

wewriwa_button

Hi everyone,

Sunday means I’m participating in the Weekend Writing Warrior, a weekly blog event during which writers share 8 sentences of one of their projects. You should check out the others right here: http://www.wewriwa.com/. I also share this post with the Snippet Sunday Facebook group, which you can find here.

I’m now all settled in Australia and returning my focus to my steampunk novel, Oil and Boiling Water, which I’m prepping for a new round of queries. Please note that it’ll take me a longer time to answer comments than before on account of the massive time difference and the new job, but I’ll get around to everyone.

Today’s excerpt are the first 8 sentences of my novel, freshly edited from a round of critique. I’ll throw them out without additional introduction. 😉

Comments and critiques are welcomed! Enjoy!

The apprentice ripped my schematics from me and slammed the University’s door shut in my face. I shivered in the coal-charged rain, staring at my hands in disbelief. Scholar Macintyre hadn’t even bothered to rob me himself! As ire warmed my blood against the cold weather and shock, I cursed men for locking me out of education, politics and cigar cabinets.
“You don’t learn, Lady Seymour,” said the guard. Dry and grinning, he stood under a roofed recess in the high marble wall. His clothes featured the collar and sleeves of nobleman’s wear attached to a shapeless robe resembling a cassock, and he wore them like the worst staples of court and Church. “If your female brain can’t comprehend the meaning of ‘never’, how could it handle calculus?”

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

27 responses to “WeWriWa – University & Thieves

Leave a Reply

