Drabble Day – Dread

Good Monday everyone!

Today’s Patriot’s Day in Quebec (Queen Victoria’s Day in Canada) and I’m getting an extra day off. Which means more writing of course. I’ve got some extra motivation too as I won a critic of the first chapter of Oil and Boiling Water (my NaNoWriMo novel turned main WIP) by Gina Panettieri (President and Executive Editor at Talcott Notch Literary Services, LLC), thanks to a contest on Ebyss’s blog. It goes a long way in reassuring me that this crazy endeavor is worth pursuing.
(For those of you who follow me on Twitter, it’s the last time I mention this, I swear. 😉 )

So I’m in a very celebrating mood!

Which doesn’t justify at all my choice of writing prompt for today. *shrugs*

How it works:

  • Read the prompt and find your angle.
  • Write a drabble (100 words story, give or take five words).
  • Post a direct link to your drabble in the comments (or, if you don’t have a blog, just go ahead and post your drabble in the comments).
  • In the post on your blog, make sure to link back to this post.

Today’s prompt is Dread! Bonus points for people who write the drabble without using that word or its synonyms.

Here’s my story!

Dread
My breath deserted my lungs. My jealousy cursed it. Tears wet my eyes and my chest contracted on my hollowed ribcage.
Couldn’t we avoid this?
A hand pressed on my shoulder. “Don’t worry, Rochelle,” the soft voice murmured. I gazed in a pair of baby blues, hoping their calm would cross over to me. “It’ll be fine.”
My breath partially returned but when the woman rolled my bed, I knew it would never catch up. By the time we reached the big white room, I matched the walls.
“You’ll sleep and wake up all better,” they said.
They were wrong.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

23 responses to “Drabble Day – Dread

Leave a comment