Drabble Day’s Story – Abandon

Hello everyone!

This is the first day of a four day-long weekend, a much needed rest that’ll help my mood get back to top shape, my writing to catch up with my objectives and my body to lose its tension. I should get around to do a few things on my To Do list and I thought the best place to start was the drabble for this week’s Drabble Challenge.
After Lorelei’s crazy life in Killing Time OST, this short story is a real palate cleanser for me.

Abandon
“Maybe you should slow down.” Jill put a hand on Nicole’s shoulder. Heartbreaks never took this big a toll but then, this year had been especially bad for Nicole.
“He wasn’t the one,” Jill continued, at a loss to find words to appease her tipsy-going-on-comatose friend. The couple was barely two months old. And Nicole did the dumping.
“You can learn from this and be stronger next time.”
Nicole looked straight at Jill, her eyes reddened by alcohol and tears. She downed her three-quarter-rum-one-quarter-coke and slammed the glass against the bar.
Jill suddenly understood the situation when Nicole kissed her.

I’ll try to get to my awards acceptance speech later today. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

15 responses to “Drabble Day’s Story – Abandon

Leave a comment