A Cover and a Name, Please!

Do you remember how I was unable to find a title for Unforeseen Dives? That time I asked you, dear readers, to help me out. I needed the title in order for my  friend and artist Melanie Bourgeois to include it on the cover art. (No, I’m not targeting self-publication. I’m targeting Authonomy and I need a cover to publicize my book on there. Plus, banners and goodies are always good to promote this blog.)
This week, Melanie send me a picture of her work in progress. After asking her if it was alright, I am presenting you a sneak peek of the upcoming cover for Unforeseen Dives!

Unforeseen Dives (WIP)

The background is about done and so is the shading and lighting of Cassidy. Just missing the colors!

Have you noticed the big missing piece of information on there? Like, I don’t know, the author’s name!
That’s the problem I need your help with today. Though, editors usually help picking a pen name, I would like a temporary, sellable one for this cover. Why a pen name? Because my real French last name poses problems to French-speaking people so I can’t even imagine what headaches it’ll bring to you English-speaking folks. I’ve worked in a bookstore and lived the hell of looking for a book when the client doesn’t know the name of the author nor title. An author’s name needs to be easy to remember. Mine ain’t.
Aheïla has been my web identity for a while but it isn’t necessarily a good start for a pen name (though including it could lead people back to this blog).
My real first name is Emilie. That’s”famous author” related so I would keep it. My real last name starts with a P.

I brainstormed with a few friends and came up with ideas. I need more suggestions. I need more opinions. I need your input!
Here is the list so far (in no particular order, after eliminating a few silly suggestions):

  • Emilie Prescott
  • Emilie Post
  • Emilie Preston
  • Emilie Prichard -> So far, opinions on this one are controversial. I like it because it use the P and my father’s name is Richard (so instead of using his last name I use his first) but according to a certain New Yorker it’s “dusty” and sounds too old. So, classy or wrinkly?
  • Emilie Ryan -> An NaSty joke and a bit too common

So, what do you think? I’m open to suggestions that don’t start with a P. Should I add the “A” initial as a middle name/cameo for Aheïla? Is it a lost cause?

Help!

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

16 responses to “A Cover and a Name, Please!

  • Jenn

    I sent you an email!

  • Leaf

    I can’t help myself, I still like “Prichard” (with or without a T) best. There’s some punch in it, the other ones are too smooth — not to say that, for me, Prescott and Preston are the ones who sounds wrinkly… ^^ (I’m not taking “Ryan” as a last name seriously, should I? XD)

    As for the cover… I can’t say anything less than what I said last Saturday: that’s a cutie I wouldn’t hurt! ^^ You must be really impatient to see it completed.

  • Ryan

    I asked a couple of co-workers. They like Pritchard. I can’t explain why!?!? Kidding. They really liked Prescott.
    If you don’t know why not to use Emily Post, your etiquette is seriously lacking. There’s a pun in there. 🙂
    Btw, I have no trouble with your last name. Why even French-speaking people do is confounding.

    • Aheïla

      Not being familiar with American authors of etiquette books doesn’t mean I don’t have any. I’m French, remember? You’re using our word for the concept. Might as well say we thought you etiquette. 😛
      So they didn’t like Prichard but they liked Prescott? I can’t put my finger on why I’m not sure about that one. *shrugs*

      And you’re comfortable with reading my name. Would you be able to spell it or even recognize it if you’ve only heard it? Are you sure most of your friends vould pronounce it right? *laughs*

      • Ryan

        Of course I can. I don’t see the problem, but then I’m good at spelling and French words/names are no problem. Btw, re-read my earlier comment. I said they do like Pritchard. They like Prescott better though. I, on the other hand, am still partial to Ryan, but I may not give you permission to use it. I haven’t decided yet.

      • Aheïla

        I thought you meant you were kidding when you said they liked Prichard. Wasn’t sure where the kidding applied. 😉
        You wouldn’t let me use Ryan? Really? *flutters her lashes*

  • Ryan

    I was kidding about saying i don’t know why they like Pritchard. Btw, i love the cover!

Leave a comment