Unforeseen Dives – 26b – Crumbs

<< 26a – Crumbs

As expected, the sweep of the World Bank headquarters resulted in cranky agents who hate working on Sunday and not a shred of proof. Aaron agreed to let us keep an eye on the place but only for three days. If nothing turned up, I would be forced to stop considering the whirlpools as part of the investigation. It was the wrong move. I could only hope something bad would happen to prove me right.
“It’s a sad day when you wish for a catastrophe.” Rebecca beamed in my head. We sat in the Edward R. Murrow Park, our feet barely touching so we could communicate telepathically. Passersby saw two couples enjoying the last days of warmth and sunshine as autumn slowly gave way to winter. Completely harmless.
The two FBI agents, Becky and I chose this spot for that very reason along with the fact that we were one intersection away from the World Bank Group headquarters. Another team was stationed on the other side of the building. Our replacements would be here soon; our picnic excuse had run its course. We didn’t want to tick off the bad guy if he took the precaution of surveying his surroundings before he acted. I kept an eye on the place while the other packed our picnic props.
I almost smiled with relief when my mom walked up to the building. Then, I noticed how bulkier she looked and my joy evaporated.
“She’s here.” Rebecca said before even turning around to confirm what she saw through my eyes. “She’s rigged to explode.” Tweedledum and Tweedledee cocked quizzical eyebrow. “Cass, something’s wrong.”
“More wrong than a woman strapped with explosives?” One of the agents asked. The other was already on his phone, calling the bomb squad and negotiator.
“My mom isn’t a criminal. She’s a victim. Show some respect.” I fumed and it wasn’t going to help me in any way. “I’m going to talk to her.”
“Hold your horses, starlet. No one approaches the suspect before the bomb squad has established a secure perimeter. We wouldn’t want to set her off.”
I buckled. They thought I was a pretty face made famous despite her lack of skills and I had proven them wrong on several occasions, bringing this investigation here almost single-handedly. That explained the incessant insults. Stupid male ego.
I outstretched a hand to catch Becky’s arm before she punched the guy. No one saw the fury in her eyes but me. This wasn’t the time for rash behavior.
“They’ll evacuate the building through the back door. Give it five for the cavalry to be here.”
Before I knew it, I was tapping my feet impatiently. Five minutes were eternity when your kidnapped mom stood across the street, strapped with C4. At last, the perimeter was set.
“No entering the safety perimeter.” The negotiator handed me a speakerphone. “If you irritate her, I am shutting you up. Clear?” I nodded and walked as close to my mom as I could. I was still a good 50 feet away.
“Hi mom!” I said into the speakerphone, feeling completely awkward. Rebecca was by my elbow and established a mental connection with me.
“Hey honey! What took you so long? Come closer!” My mom stepped toward me which sent a bunch of guns cocking.
“Mom, stay where you are please.” An edge of panic hallowed my voice.
“Cass…” Rebecca’s uneasiness ringed through me. “I think she just prompt dived. In the whirlpool too.”
“Do you know the current course of actions leads to me being gunned down?” My mom cheerfully asked. “But the bomb tracks my heartbeat.” She laughed. I couldn’t believe my ears. What had they done to my mom? “Right now, the symphony goes pianissimo gun shot, suspenseful pause and fortissimo boom for the finale.”
“Mom, it’s ok. I know you’re nervous. We’re going to get you out of that suit safely.”
“Don’t you dare touch me!” My mom yelled, her face distorted by a violence I didn’t know she could yield. “This is right and you won’t make it wrong, silly child.”
The negotiator eyed me intently. My mother started pacing left to right. This wasn’t good at all.
“You’re right, mom. I’m sorry.”
“Cass, her mind is completely wrong. None of her thoughts make any sense. I can’t even recognize your mom.” Rebecca informed me silently.
“Of course, I’m right. All of us readers, we’re wrong. The Ocean’s evil. It corrupts us. It robs the world of its sense.” She spoke in a passionate tone but none of the content sounded like something my mom would ever say. “We can bend the world to our will with what we know. We’re dangerous.” That line came straight from the few anti-readers groups that existed. I shivered. Did they brainwash her?
“I don’t think they did, Cass. I think they drove her nuts.” Tears swelled at Rebecca’s words. Only the hope of bringing my mom back to sanity held me together.
“You of all people should know that. You’re a plague. You got your dad killed.”
“Mom…”
“Shut up! This isn’t a conversation! You’re a sorry excuse for a daughter. Then you had to go and get broken. Smut yourself with the worst taboo.”
I knew my mom would never mean that. Nevertheless, it was her body and voice yelling hatred at me. Each word stung deep and spread their poison in my system. Stress prevented me from shielding myself. Seeing my pain, the negotiator took the speakerphone out of my hands.
“It’s the Ocean’s fault.” my mom continued, “Today, I’m showing how dangerous readers are. And hopefully, I’ll clean you too in the process.”
“Down!” Rebecca yelled. She forced me to the ground a second before the explosion’s sound drowned my senses and reasoning alike. The hot wave shook everyone off their feet and debris hurt a quite few agents. There was a bit of yelling but no big human damage was done so the frenzy soon subsided.
My back on the pavement, I felt completely numb. My mom had insulted me before blowing herself up. I was nowhere near wrapping my head around that.
And if someone asked me if I was okay, I might turn homicidal myself.

27a – Gone >>

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

10 responses to “Unforeseen Dives – 26b – Crumbs

Leave a comment