Red District – Working Girl

If you’ve read my previous Red District posts (Invitation and As Business Goes…), you know quite a bit about Isobel and her Whitechapel tea shop that turned brothel. I’ve told you the poem are Isobel speaking. Today, I’m presenting the first song which is from the voice of one of the prostitute.

You can hear it here. (Click on Working Girl then play to listen.) I recorded it this morning. Everything is my voice without any type of effect. It’s raw. Probably like what a bunch of women could do live in a 1890 tea shop. 😉
(FYI: For those of you who might have already heard it on my Emilie’s Whims MySpace, this is a new version with “music” and all.)

Here are the lyrics!

Working Girl

Look at me once, look at me twice
And now please tell me what is the price
You’re willing to pay, to have me tonight
Just for a sway or for the whole delight 

I might sweeten the deal
‘Cause you look quite nice
But you can’t get it lower
See, I’m a fresh flower
As for my sex-appeal
Well… you looked at me thrice
I am not really desperate
To find fun at this rate

What would you give for a hell of a ride
Would you forfeit your heart or let go of your pride
“It’s too much” you say, but had it crossed your mind
That in each pair of arms a piece of me stays behind

I don’t mean to complain
‘Cause at least I can eat
Though sometimes I wonder
If I’d rather not plunder
Consider the pain
The sadness and deceit
Forming a thick bile
Hidden behind my smile

Look at me once, look at me twice
Can you see the pain just behind the mask
But I shouldn’t dwell, I shouldn’t have asked
After all, I’ve chosen my torture device

How much would you pay?
How much would you pay?
How much would you pay?

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

2 responses to “Red District – Working Girl

Leave a comment