Red District – As Business Goes…

I presented, last week, how the vestige of a student project have turned into a series of poems and songs.
Today, I am posting another poem from the series where Isobel talks about her business and how it all got started.

As Business Goes…
I often watch at night
Under the chandelier’s light
The motions of my tenants’ tide
Various motivations incite
This response to my invite
Though most are vigorously denied

Some are here for pleasure
Others seek a treasure
Only their body can provide
Boredom or leisure
Also make a good measure
Of why corsets get untied

Think of it, I must surely
Tell you the whole story
If only for the sake of my pride
This way you couldn’t wrong me
Thinking I chose this hastily
Or that this situation I deride

My initial essay
Welcomed whores to stay
Shielded from the cold outside
That plan went astray
Though not a brothel per se
Still women sat astride

Then men started to come
Following their sugarplum
So I took the last stride
The peace shouldn’t succumb
So I devised a rule of thumb
As to how bodies would collide

My rules seemed a chore
Business nearly ran ashore
When they were first applied
But men couldn’t ignore
That their urges and amour
Under my roof, walked alongside

One look at my clientele
And even a blind could tell
This, they shouldn’t abide
A glance at my personnel
Skins of pearl and caramel
Lack of morals’ justified

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

2 responses to “Red District – As Business Goes…

  • Phil

    This is very sensuous and intriguing. Is Isobel content, cynical, indifferent? I think your imagery conveys all that nicely.

    • Aheïla

      Thanks! I haven’t been writing serious poetry for quite some time and I find that I miss it very much. Maybe sharing the Red District with you guys will push me to finish that series. Who knows?

Leave a comment