Til It Happens to You (Lady Gaga)

I’m not posting one of my songs today. The one that I meant to post is not quite ready, but I can share what inspired it.

** Trigger warning: both this post and the song are about rape. **

A couple of weeks ago, a friend shared this new song by Lady Gaga, which is as beautiful as it is important and hard to watch. There have been words floating in my mind since then, because I know people who’ve gone through this (both men and women.) I have my own stories, though, in my mind and the way I experienced them, they’re nowhere as harsh as what happens to others.

Every day.

I’ve been writing and erasing a dozen version of this last part of this post, and I realized that there’s much I’d like to say because this subject is close to my heart. But there’s nothing more I want to say now, because I don’t want my ideas distracting you from the video.

Just watch this.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

Leave a comment