Dear Procrastination,

I’d be a fool to pretend you don’t have your charms. Truth be told, you’ve been a life line through the craziness of relocating (again!) on the other side of the world, fighting for a month and a half to get Internet and stuff of that ilk. You’re like a pair of fluffy slippers; comfortable, reliable, and kept around for way longer than you should be.

It’s not you. It’s me.

Slippers are a phase, not the true path to my sanity and happiness. I know it’s hard to hear, but after all you’ve done for me, I feel I owe you honesty.

I simply can’t stop Tatiana on her quest to change the world. I can’t allow Grace to eternally stress about the second circle of hell, carnal malefactors and playboy bunnies. How could I leave Cherry in Twister over-analyzing their body jumping addiction? Or keep Kaerea in her space prison while the children whose death she predicted –whose life she can save– are breathing their last? Or Sa’athy, pulling lead out of a man while wandering if the human race will turn on what’s left of her people?

It’s cruel!

And besides, Éloi and Dante  won’t shut up when I try to sleep.

And there are other projects on the horizon. Talks/panels at games conferences… maybe some singing…

I’m sorry, Procrastination, but our lifestyles don’t match anymore.

So, in the earworm-al words of Taylor Swift: “We-ee are never ever ever getting back together!”

And like many a teenage girl in 2012, this song will be the anthem of our break up. Every time I consider indulging in your charms, I will belt this song. The very thought of having to do this is a mighty fine deterrent –no offense to the artist and her fans.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

2 responses to “Dear Procrastination,

Leave a comment