Blau ist sehr schön!

So I’ve been in Germany for three days now and there are a few things I’ve learned/experienced:

1. German people are not particularly cold and distant. The small community of my apartment building invited me for tea and cake, and then barbecue on the roof terrace on my very first day. Also, most strangers are super helpful and tend to squeeze my arm gently as they say goodbye.

2. Turn the key the other way to unlock the door, damn it! When will you learn?

3. That awkward moment when people walk up to me, start speaking enthusiastically in German, and then turn crimson when they realize the only words I understood were “blau” and “schön”. Apparently, my hair is internationally liked.

4. The simplest things are an adventure since I barely understand German (though I’m working on that every day). Just figuring out how to operate the washing machine will be interesting.

Aside from that, my desktop computer needs some love and care before it agrees to feed an image to my monitor, and the first day at work was a busy blast; I had a To Do list before I set foot in the place! That’s perfect for me since nothing bores me more than two weeks of training/thumb-twirling.

That’s it for now!

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

One response to “Blau ist sehr schön!

  • Leaf

    It seems great so far! Keep it up, I’m sure you’ll find your way easily around German To-Do Lists and instruction booklets.

    People noticing and liking your hair? SO not surprised. 😀

Leave a comment