And The Winner Is…

I’ve got several winners to talk about today. The winner of an autographed high quality print of the Unforeseen Dives cover (which is a person) and the winner of the “first NaNoWriMo novel” title (which is a story).

First, because you’re all dying to know, the winner of the autographed print is…
Drumroll please… *silence*… I said DRUMROLL PLEASE… *drumroll* Good!
Please give a round of applause to Claudie A.! Congratulations! If I am not mistaken, you are my ML for NaNoWriMo. So you may either send me your address through the Contact Me section or wait for October 31st when  I’ll give it to you in person at the NaNo/Kickoff.

Now, for the other piece of business. I’ve been having a problem decide what to write for NaNo. The problem is not finding an idea but deciding which idea I’ll write. So I asked the advice of my dear Absolute Write folks to try to figure out which story would best serve my writing career.
First on the stand is The One Who Shields, which is the sequel to The One Who Sees. Writing a sequel indicates staying power for a writer. However, writing a sequel before selling the first book also indicates obsession. Do I really want to put all my eggs in the same basket?
Second on the stand is That Steampunk Story, which has nothing to do with The One Who Sees. It’s not even the same genre. Writing it provides me with a wider net to cast if The One Who Sees doesn’t work out. On the other hand, it can also read as a lack of focus. Does it fall in the fun but unwise category?
Third on the stand is Killing Time OST, which is the blog novel you’ll be able to read here from January to June 2011. Writing it would lighten my schedule for next year. On the other hand, it’s already part of my schedule and you guys are motivation enough to get it done. Would I be wasting the NaNoWriMo energy?

After some deliberation, the Absolute Write folks have voted for…
Drumroll please… *silence*… Gosh! Do I really have to ask for everything twice? *drumroll*
Please give a round of applause to That Steampunk Story! It’s really going to need a title now…
According the AW writers, so early in my publishing quest, variety is good. Do you think otherwise? Which story would you have me write?

That’s it for today’s news. I still have a few of them in my pocket but I’ll wait a bit before I share them. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

4 responses to “And The Winner Is…

  • Jenn

    Congrats to ClaudieA!
    I think with your explainations of why you picked the one that you did, I agree with you. I love Killing Time OST but if it’s already part of next years schedule, then I can wait lol.
    Have I ready part of this Steampunk story already? I think I have…

    • Aheïla

      I’ll get this cover printed soon. *sighs* Life is busy.
      Killing Time OST is going to be a blast. I wrote the outline in August as part of my WeSeWriMo objective and I can’t wait to start writing it. Lorelei is going to be a very interesting character to bully. *evil grin*

  • Claudie A.

    Woah, I won something! ^^ YAY, and thanks! 🙂 I can wait for October 31st to get it. Honestly, it’s not like I’ll have a lot of time to read it before December, so whether I see it within the next week or at the end of the month. And thanks again!

    The steampunk story sounds quite cool, and I always think it’s a good idea to try something new. But I’m biased: I’m trying out steampunk(ish) during NaNo too. 😉

    • Aheïla

      I’ll get you your copy of the cover art print on the 31st then. Unforeseen Dives will come to an end in December so you’ll be able to read it all as you please instead of waiting for the next chapter twice a week. I have a knack for cliffhangers so maybe you’ll be happy to start reading it once it’s done. *laughs*
      We shall steampunk together then!

Leave a comment