What’s done and what’s next?

Hello dear readers,

I make my usual monthly review a day early because the first week of August promises to be very busy at work as much as here. But more on this a little later.

The month of July will remain in my memory as a month that brought me one step closer to my ultimate objective. As some of you know, I decided last December that I was sick of saying I wanted to be a writer and that, starting last January, I would do anything in my power to reach that goal. July showed me that I was on my way there.
I’ve been working on expending my network through various sites that I’m trying and either dropping or investing energy in depending on the fun I have their and the traffic I get back. I only have so many hours in a week and have to make choices.  My efforts brought 500 more views to my site this month, pushing the total to an awesome 1,700-ish views. Maybe it doesn’t sound like much for well-established blogger or bloggers with mainstream subjects. For me, it’s more than I hoped for.
And the fact that everyday, most of these views are from regular readers is an incredible gift and it motivates me to write even more. So thank you all for being here and coming back. It means a lot.

As some of you know I wanted to finish The One Who Sees before the end of July. I didn’t meet my goal. Not because I didn’t work on it but because my story was broken and needed fixing. It didn’t make any sense for me to meet my goal just for the sake of it so I did the necessary editing which in turn caused the delay. I don’t mind; the story is way better now! 😉
July also brought me the honor of being chosen by the Guide to Art Schools as one of the 43 best short stories blog. That definitely makes up for the delays in The One Who Sees.

For the month of August, even more goodies are planned. Obviously, Unforeseen Dives is still unfolding. We are more a little more than halfway through! Unforeseen Dives is the project I entered WeSeWriMo with. During the course of the Web Series Writing Month, I aim at writing 20 chapters (which would bring me 12 chapters ahead of you at the end of the month). My secondary objective is to outline next year’s project. Yes, you’ve read right, I plan to continue this next year. Will it be the sequel to Cassidy? Something else? I don’t know yet.
WeSeWriMo is not the only writing challenge I entered this month. I also am part of NaStySuMo (National Story of Superhero Month). This blog will thus become filled with superhero stories and it’ll start as soon as August 3rd with the NaStySuMo theme song. 😉 It’s not too late for you to join!
I’m also hosting and providing the theme for the Absolute Write Water Cooler blog chain so on August 2nd you’ll read my entry for the August Coloring Blog Chain.
Finally, you can expect a bit more in the How I Write series, Absurd Fables and my usual rambling. 😉

Can we bust the 2,000 views milestones in August? I’ll try my best to make my blog good enough for it! 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

Leave a comment