How I Write – Brainstorming, Alone?

Last week, I talked about brainstorming. By definition, it’s done in group so you can’t really do it alone. However, the truth of a writer’s life is that we must often find ourselves alone when comes the time to spurt out clever concepts and breath-taking scenes. My objective today is to share how we can apply the core principles of brainstorming with an added touch of lateral thinking tools to a solo ideation process.

                     

What Do We Keep?
Since this process is based on the core of an actual brainstorming, the first thing I ought to address is “what exactly do we keep from the group thingy?” Only the following three guidelines:

  • Focus on quantity, not quality. We’ll sort it out later.
  • No idea’s bad. Again, we’ll sort it out later! A seemingly bad idea can spark awesome ones so we shouldn’t hold back.
  • Shut off the criticism. Why? Refer to previous line.
  • Basically, what we want to retain from brainstorming is the state of mind. Every thing is permitted, especially the unexpected.

                             

    Enters Lateral Thinking
    The term was coined by Edward de Bono in the mid 6os. What it means is fairly simple; lateral thinking is all thinking opposed to the usual logical, thus linear, reasoning. It has probably already happened to you a few times to just run in circles when attempting to solve a problem. We get so focused on the problem at hand and its logical solution that it becomes difficult to think outside the box. Lateral thinking is exactly that: thinking outside the box. Way outside the box.
     This process happens naturally when you put several different brains in one conference room and ask them to produce ideas. Obtaining the same result using one brain is a bit more of a hustle but it can be done with the proper technique.

                                            

    How Does One Create Fruitful Non Sequitur?
    In order to avoid following the natural path of step-by-step logic, we must introduce the unexpected in our process. This can be achieved in a nearly endless number of ways. I’ve talked about drawing random objects out of a bag to reanimate dead conversations during a brainstorming. Nothing keeps us from doing it alone.
    Sit down with paper or post-it notes, a pen and a generator of unexpected. A dictionary can work: pick a random word in it. Wikipedia’s random searches work too. A bag of random objects? Yup. Heck, even a tarot card deck does a great job.
    Figure out what your problem is, what you need the ideation for, and then generate one unexpected element. Write down a list of words or ideas that links that unexpected element to your subject. Don’t think for too long! Just line up the words. Think of that one random element as the ultimate key to the solution. When you start slowing down on words, generate a new element.
    Before you know it, you’ll have a bunch of ideas more or less related to your subject. You can begin your sorting phase by ditching the ones that have to real potential. Then, organize the ideas by aspect of the project or whatever structure speaks the most to you. You’ll see solutions appear, solutions you never thought you would think about.
    Solutions outside the box.

                                        

    Conclusion
    This is barely brushing on the subject of lateral thinking. There are several other ways to force a new view-point on a problem and encourage the birth of a creative solution. You can reverse the problem, amplify or diminish it, go on a stream of “Why?”, etc. The important thing you must do is lead your brain away from the linear path of logic and gear it to produce useful random ideas.
    Don’t sort them out as you produce them. Don’t analyze. Don’t create boundaries.
    Jump from one subject to another. Allow yourself a little chaos. Let the priceless idea sprout from the maelstrom.
    That’s what brainstorming is all about and it can certainly be done alone. I use that quite often when I start a new story or hit a writer’s block. 😉

    About Aheïla

    Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

    7 responses to “How I Write – Brainstorming, Alone?

    • scribadiva

      I Love your blog. I have a head injury, so my writing has suffered, but if I don’t write, I go nuts. I like the first post. When I can, I’ll spend more time here.

      I’m adding you as a friend at BC. feel free to check out my blog and critique. I would really appreciate it; I’m tough and resilient, so be as blunt as possible.
      I don’t see Google Follower, so I’ll subscrive via email.
      Sweet tides, Linda
      P.S. Maybe you can guess by my name that I”m dead serious!

      • Aheïla

        It’s hard to get over physical problem but I found out that writing helped me too.
        I’ll befriend you on BC as well. However, I cannot set up Google Friend Connect right now. You can either click the “Sign me up!” button in the right sidebar or follow me through Facebook.
        It’s a pleasure to meet you Linda and I hope we will chat again soon! 😉

    • scribadiva

      I have no idea how to send a friend invite. I am really tired, though, so I will try tomorrow. There’s a problem with comments today anyway.

      • Aheïla

        It wasn’t a problem. Since you were commenting for the first time, I had to approve it before it appeared.
        Through what did you want to send a friend invite? Some friends have nicknamed me “the computer whisperer” so maybe I can help!

        • scribadiva

          That’s so cool. You know, I created the computer department at Suffolk Law. I built a lab, finagled office space, named the department CRC, Computer Resource Center (Isn’t that alliteration?) called the stationers and had letterhead and business cards printed. Do you know what they did (I didn’t ask permission for this?) They more than doubled my salary. But I’m old school. I wanted to befriend you on BC. But fine, I’m following you now. I had “walked out” on Facebook in protest, and now I’m back, because you are definitely worth it. In the future, my postings won’t be so lengthy. I KNOW I’m going to learn a lot from you.

          One other thing: An evil landlord threw out/sold all my possessions. This included about 1000 photos that I had just begun to sell, and 40 years of journals. Papers I wrote for the Mayor of Boston, and no way to replace any of it, not even my thesis. It’s been 5 years, so I don’t cry anymore!
          I also signed up for email, and I’ll make sure to catch your series. For now, sweet tides, Linda

        • Aheïla

          I read a bit of your history when I skimmed your blog. I didn’t have much time to read it but got the gist of it. You sure didn’t have it easy.
          It’s good that you’ve outgrown the difficulty of the experience and found the strenght to pick yourself up. You seem to have a lot to say and I’ll make sure to find time to stop by your blog.
          It’ll be a pleasure to read more of your comments and I’m convinced we can learn from each other.
          Have a wonderful day!

    • Creativity Tip – Speculation | The Writeaholic's Blog

      […] some of my other Creativity Tips (especially the one about brainstorming alone and the value of a tarot deck), this post can help you get over your hurdle and keep the word count […]

    Leave a comment