June Review

We said good-bye to June last Wednesday and what a month it was! This monthly review is pretty loaded but I guess there is only one thing I can start with the biggest news. Do you remember how, last month, I wondered if we would go past the 1,000 page views for the month of July. Well… we did! And with flying colors! I did two rounds of happy dancing for the occasion. Yup, I’m crazy like that (or more accurately I think every occasion to rejoice should be exploited to its maximum).

Granted, these views didn’t just fall down from the sky. I started networking more seriously for the last two weeks or so. I didn’t want to get to far in that before I had the visuals for my banner. I finally decided I could push it later as a redecoration of the place and chalk some shameless promotion to this occasion.
I was already on the Absolute Write Water Cooler forums as you might have gathered from the few blog chains I did with them.
So I am now on Blog Catalog. It is primarily, as its name says, a directory of blogs. However, there is also an awesome community of people and all the “become friends”, “follow blog” and “review blog” goodies. Plus forums for some blogger fun.
My Facebook fan page is also linked to Networked Blog. There’s a big button on the right sidebar here so you can follow me on there too.
Last, but not least, I have stepped in the EpiGuide forums which specialize in all things web series, blog novels and other Web entertainment. I’m not very active there yet but it’ll come soon enough.
There are still quite a few networking opportunities I am not using. Hell, I don’t even use the ones I have to their full potential. One step at a time. I might be a writeaholic, I do have a life (and a job) outside of this blog.

Speaking of writeaholism, I wrote 5,000 words yesterday and damned that felt good. It had been a long time since I could sit in front of my computer and just write for several hours straight. My brain complained a bit but finally gave in and appreciated the moment.
I’m trying to get ahead a little bit in the writing of Unforeseen Dives. I have a few projects on the back burner, namely another NaSty for August (you’ll hear more about it soon enough) and NaNoWriMo in November. I need to carve time for these and that means completing what I can complete as soon as possible.
The One Who Sees is also back on track. I had a bit of a jam and after letting it rest for a month, I pulled through. I hammered down a few tasty details not only for this book but for the rest of the series as well. I’ll end up with so much notes for the other book they might write themselves without my help. 😉

That’s about it! For this month, you can expect to the continuation of Unforeseen Dives (daaaahhh!), more “How I Write” stuff (probably getting into technical stuff such as creativity techniques and how to fight writer’s block), surely some absurd fables and songs. What else? Oh! Someone suggested that I share a bit of my environment with you guys. I might do a National Geographic inspired series about the writeaholic in its natural habitat. 😉
Okay, I think I’ve covered everything. See you tomorrow for  I still don’t know what (but it’ll be entertaining, I swear).

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

Leave a comment