Unforeseen Dives – 20a – Omen

<< 19b – Training

I folded the invitation and slid it back inside the envelope.
“People could comprehend the reason of your absence. Don’t force yourself if you don’t want to come.” Daniel placed a hand on my shoulder, a gesture that said he cared about my well-being even if he was my boss.
“First, the slashing thing happened ages ago. Second, and more importantly, Wayne wasn’t himself when he attacked me. Now he’s back. I wouldn’t miss his party for the world.”
“You are a truly amazing woman.”
“I am also another black sheep who won’t spit on a brother.” I smiled.
“See you Sunday afternoon then!”
We parted ways. I needed to get to the gym. Rebecca closed her locker as I walked in to change. I shimmied into my training pants as fast as I could and traded my glasses for lenses.
“Ready to nail those guys?” She asked with eagerness in her tone.
“Sure thing!”
“Let’s flatten them!” Her hand raised in a high five and I slapped it with enthusiasm.
In the gym, Swan and Ian, the two army trained telepaths we had faced a week before, were ready for a brawl. Total victories had been in their favor last time. Today would be different by a mile. Or two. In fact, they probably wouldn’t win unless they attacked within the first ten seconds.
Asking Rebecca to teach me to build a wall around my brain had been the key. When we talked about it to researchers on prompt diving, they told us they had tried it in the past but the patients were so far gone that learning had been impossible. It made me even gladder I hadn’t buried my condition until I went nuts.
I couldn’t hold the wall up every of my waking hours like Rebecca did. However, with minimal concentration, I maintained it during about an hour before I flinched. I tried to lengthen that time span every day.
When the wall was up, I didn’t dive. Unfortunately, when it came down, the Ocean made up for the lost time and I plunged instantly. The good and the bad news would cancel each other out but apparently, my newly trained concentration muscle also helped me control my forced dives.
In the past week, I had learned to take advantage of that. I released my wall to do controlled dives. Once integrated to our fighting techniques, my new skill rendered Becky and me virtually unbeatable. Today, we were putting ourselves to the test.
We faced our opponents squarely. All four of us smiled then fell into fighting stance. Rebecca and I maintained physical contact so she could shield my thoughts while I dived. While we paced in circle, measuring our opponents, I swiftly hit the Ocean.
Rebecca wanted to attack the guy on the left first, Swan. That led to defeat. We chose to wait for them to attack: defeat. If I attacked the guy on the left, though… The analysis went fast. I saw the whole sequence of moves leading to victory.
Becky hooked her arm in mine. I pushed to roll onto her back. Landing on the other side, I quickly used momentum to throw a spinning kick. Swan grabbed it. I knew he would. It left his partner’s flank vulnerable. Before Swan thought about letting me go, I used his hold as support and sent my other foot smashing Ian’s abs. He expected Becky to jump him, not me. He bent under the shock. Rebecca barely reached to grab his shoulder and throw him over her on his back.
Swan had released me and fell back in defensive stance. Not that I cared. I reached over my head and jumped backward. Becky caught my arms in midair, powering my back flip. I landed on Ian and grounded him while he tried to catch his breath. I wasn’t heavy but my locks were decent. Rebecca downed a surprised Swan with a quick spin in the legs.
Thirty seconds tops and it was over.
“We never had a chance, did we?” Ian chuckled, looking over his shoulder. I was pressed against his back. “Not that I’m complaining.”
I released him and helped him up. Applause resounded in the nearly empty gym. Our coach was proud of us but he wasn’t the clapping type.
“You don’t play soft, do you?” Casey teased as he reached us.
“Only one way to get tough.” Rebecca answered.
“I heard our Cass is getting there.”
“Wanna test her?”
“Sure!”
“So I’m a circus freak now!” Despite the tone and words, I smiled and closed in on Rebecca. “Here are the rules. Casey, try to surprise me. Rebecca, shield me and listen in on my dive.”
“I want the two guys as neutral party.” Casey objected.
“Where’s the trust?” Rebecca smirked. I could hear the two telepaths through her contact with me. They were listening in. I dived and smirked too.
“Go ahead, Casey.”
“Well, I’m here to ask you if you’re ready for a press conference. We’d like to share your progress.” He walked towards me as he spoke. “We don’t want the people to play too long with the idea you’re a freak. It’s better to make you a hero again.”
As he reached me, he leaned forward. Rebecca swiftly stepped behind him and pulled his arm into a painful lock.
“Hey!” Casey yelped. Swan and Ian laughed, bringing a quizzical expression of Becky’s prisoner’s face. Swan took it upon himself to explain.
“She dived and thought: ‘He’s going to talk to me about the media circus then look like a clown by attempting to kiss me, completely forgetting that Rebecca saw it coming through me. Since she loves to make him suffer…’”
“She’s really good, man. You shouldn’t doubt her.” Ian said, patting Casey’s shoulder as he headed out of the gym. Swan did the same, adding to the humiliation.
“Got the point. Are you going to let me go now?”
“Not sure. I think submission suits you.” Rebecca commented.
I decided not to get between them. I planted a kiss of Casey’s cheek and headed back to the lockers.

20b – Omen >>

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

6 responses to “Unforeseen Dives – 20a – Omen

  • Phil

    I totally like what I’m seeing of Cassidy. She’s mentally and physically strong. Even wears glasses? I like women with glasses. Poor Casey! He always seems to be outmaneuvered by Cassidy and Rebecca. Can’t they give him a break? Lol.

    • Aheïla

      You didn’t know Cassidy wore glasses? That’s why they call her “Square” from time to time (though they haven’t done that for a while).
      I don’t think Rebecca knows what “giving a break” actually means. *chuckles*

  • Antonio

    this story has everyting. I think there’s a good balance here with dialogue, exposition, dialogue, internal dialogue…it can be tough sometimes to do that. 😉

  • Alyssa

    liked the increased action in this. 😉

Leave a comment