Hear Me Out

Special edition of the Writeaholic Blog!

Listen to the track to hear me out!

Note: This is recorded with a busted microphone in my apartment’s office. Bear with me! (And yes, I’ll buy a new microphone.)
Note 2: I thought I could add it here directly. Apparently, I have to pay for that service. So when I say “comment below” I mean here on the blog. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

15 responses to “Hear Me Out

  • Kylie Ru

    This may be a little awkward, but uh . . . OH MY GOSH, I LOVE YOUR VOICE!!!! And that was how I’ve been pronouncing it! :3

    • Aheïla

      Lol! Thanks sweetie!
      I actually pondered recording the NaSty story for a while. I always read them out loud to fine tune them and “The Spell” almost yells for its audio version.
      Good call on the pronounciation! Here is another carnivorous potted plant for you. This one’s a green one so it’ll go well with your red. 😉

  • Antonio Rich

    My computer won’t let me listen…I’ll try again tomorrow… 😉

    • Aheïla

      What a shame! I kind of made this for you! I sure hope your computer will let you listen tomorrow.
      (FYI: I’m not sure the track starts by itself. You might have to press “Play”. Not that I think you neglected to do it but better safe than sorry!)

    • Tiffany

      Yeah – at first I thought it would autoplay – so make sure to hit “play” on the player in the link.

  • Tiffany

    So if Aheila is a nick-name, does it have a meaning in French?
    It’s really cool that you wrote this song for my character 🙂 Dude! Percussion and harmonies and all now! Too cool!

    • Aheïla

      Nope. It’s made up! It’s actually the name of a character in one of my first attempt at a novel (which was science-fantasy-ish).
      I’m having a lot of fun writing the song. I’m still looking for the end of it. I haven’t found quite the right words yet.
      I don’t have a guitar but vocal chords and a desk can make wonders! 😉

  • marsha

    Love your voice, sexy accent! I actually was pronouncing the name correctly. Score one for the old broad!

    • Aheïla

      Yeah! Good job!

      And thanks for the comment. My accent is such a mix-and-match of just about everything I heard, I’m glad it ends up sounding sexy! 😉

  • Phil

    Okay, I’ll second the sexy voice comment. Yeah. It’s a bit awkward saying that to my “sister” in this virtual NaSty family of ours. Lol. Your accent is more melodious than the Parisian accent which is kinda flat. Nice!

    • Aheïla

      Haha! Come on now, family members can recognize each others’ strengths. 😉

      I’ve had some weird comments about my accent in the past from people who didn’t know where I am from. Most of them though I was European (British, mostly) but they never mentioned French.
      My coworkers actually tell me that I don’t have an accent. In the sense that my English is not scarred with the French/Quebec accent. Obviously, to an English person’s ear, that’s a whole other story. 😉

  • JanisHarrison

    I’m one of those flat-voiced western U.S. folks. I once worked with a Parisian French guy and I had fits understanding him sometimes — his “f” instead of “th” — but somehow I get the hardened “th” of Canadian French (and I think provincial French). You have a LOVELY voice. I think you should be a radio announcer. Every man and most of the women would listen to you!

    • Aheïla

      Hi Janis!
      How nice to read you here!
      I surely didn’t expect to get that many comments on my voice. I expected some on my singing voice but not on my spoken one! 🙂
      Radio announcer, huh? We don’t have enough stations here so it would be very heard to make a life out of it. May be I could do audio books! 😉

  • Antonio Rich

    I listened to the recording at a friends’s house…and, unlike Phil, I have no qualms in complimenting you on “your sexy voice.” 😉 I admit I was completely screwing up the pronunctiation of your name(nickname)…this shouldn’t be a surprise seeing that I can barely spell it correctly half the time…

    • Aheïla

      I’m glad you were finally able to listen to it.
      Pronoucing nickname is often a tricky thing. Luckily ours are actually in “first name format”.;)
      Thanks for the compliment. I’m starting to grow really fond of my voice all of a sudden!

Leave a comment