WeWriWa – Éloi

wewriwa_button

Hi everyone,

I’m participating in the Weekend Writing Warrior, a weekly blog event during which writers share 8 to 10 sentences of one of their projects. You should check out the others right here: http://www.wewriwa.com/. I share this post with the Snippet Sunday Facebook group, which you can find here.

We’re back with another excerpt from my steampunk novel, Oil and Boiling Water (previous excerpts are compiled here). We’ve jumped a couple of lines of dialogue between Tatiana and Éloi (aka Mister Goldilocks) to where Damian (Tatiana’s brother) returns.

“She’s out of your league.” My brother dropped a bowl full of stew in front of me. “And you’re sitting at my place.”
Milles excuses, monsieur. I only meant to preserve your sister’s peace.” Éloi rose and pulled out the chair for my brother with a theatrical bow. I remembered seeing a similar one done by a servant in a Castilian masked play. Had Éloi seen the play at one of the public shows or was he simply parodying nobles?
Was it usual for sailors to parody nobles?

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

14 responses to “WeWriWa – Éloi

Leave a comment