WeWriWa – Warmth and Men

wewriwa_button

Hi everyone,

I’m participating in the Weekend Writing Warrior, a weekly blog event during which writers share 8 sentences of one of their projects. You should check out the others right here: http://www.wewriwa.com/. I share this post with the Snippet Sunday Facebook group, which you can find here.

We’re back with another excerpt of my steampunk novel, Oil and Boiling Water (previous excerpts are compiled here). We’ve skipped ahead a bit to Tatiana’s arrival at the Loose Cogs Tavern.

When thunder roared, I cowered into the tavern, hands clutched in my skirts and heart beating against my corset. Whistling punctuated my entrance, and pride straightened my spine. The damp warmth of the tavern pressed against me, along with the bodies of men. My nose wrinkled against the reek of sweat, alcohol and layers of dirt.
A man with a mouth full of rotten teeth made kissing noises at me. I yelped and pushed away from him, only to bump in another man.
Breathe. I had to breathe and spot my brother.

Comments and critiques are welcomed!

In other news, I’m moving into my long term apartment this week (no more temporary accommodations!), so I may still be oddly delayed in returning comments. Life should stabilize after that. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

24 responses to “WeWriWa – Warmth and Men

Leave a comment