Of Voices and Games

Short post today because I have a NaNoWriMo word count to catch up on. 😉

This morning, I made myself a cup of coffee and decided to be a little nostalgic by using my Drakensang Online mug.

The aforementioned mug in all its splendor!

The aforementioned mug in all its splendor!

I worked with the Drakensang team for three months in Berlin and really enjoyed the experience. We had several big tasks in the pipeline during my short interim leadership of the design team. One of them was the new Game Entry and a first version of it was released mid-August.

One thing didn’t quite make it in that release, though.

After I sang at a celebratory team event, the audio designer asked if I’d like to lend my voice to one of the background tracks for the game. I agreed and before I left, we recorded vocals, but we were a bit too tight to implement it for the initial release. Looking at my mug, I wondered if it had been implemented by now.

So I checked.

And it is!

In case you’re curious and want to see one of the projects I’ve worked on, go play Drakensang Online. It’s free-to-play. And if you want to hear what my singing sounds like, play at least until the third map (about ten minutes in) which is a night time dark fantasy garden. All the vocals are mine (a few tracks are layered to create harmonies), except for the one that sounds like lyrics in a foreign language.

How awesome is that?

Shout out to the great team at Bigpoint Berlin and Andy, the audio designer, for his inclusive approach to sound design! This was a lot of fun.

Now back to that writing thing I sometimes do…

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

Leave a comment