WeWriWa 7 – Liam

Hello everyone and welcome to fellow Weekend Writing Warriors!

Like the preceding weeks, the 8 sentences I’m posting for the blog hop are from The Phoenix’s Wake today.

The setting for this week: Drea’s phone rings at 9am on a Saturday morning, while she’s in company of her wanna-be boyfriend, Liam.

I twisted cautiously to get Liam’s arm off me. It pulled away in a soft caress, taking the covers with it. Snuggled in his pillow, hair tousled and a nice full day old stubble, Liam looked at me with sleepy eyes. I smiled in a silent apology. He slipped a strand of my hair behind my ear and pointed the door with his chin. After planting a quick kiss on his forehead, I grabbed a robe and made my way to the living room.
“Yes?”
“I thought about something you said,” Keith said.

This week in the adventures of the first draft:
I didn’t get a whole lot written this week. This story is coming to me in a kaleidoscope, so I keep discovering major elements that need to happen prior to the chapter I’m supposed to be writing. This week, three characters showed their true faces to me. I have to go back and edit them because it impacts the plot in a significant way and I can’t find the end without at least a quick and dirty idea of the road.
As a result, I spent more time on Critique Circle, critiquing other people’s stories and setting up my next submissions. Critters are reacting well to The Phoenix’s Wake and being very helpful in making it better.
Overall, it was a productive week, just not the kind of productive I was aiming for. 😉

Please read and give a shout to other WeWriWa!

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

14 responses to “WeWriWa 7 – Liam

Leave a comment