Strings of Retaliation – On Hold! ;(

I wish I was a superwoman. *cracks one eye open* Darn it!

That’s basically what has been happening throughout the day. Why? Because it breaks my heart to write this post. It truly does.

Let’s just do the Band-aid trick: one hard pull and get it over with.

*takes a deep breath*

I have to leave Strings of Retaliation on hold.

Lorelei may kill me for it if I don’t beat her to the punch.

The fact is that no matter how hard I try, I’m not a superwoman. I can’t possibly work 40ish hours a week, edit Oil and Boiling Water by September, prep the class I’ll start teaching in August AND write a story as demanding as Strings of Retaliation.

Invariably, something will suffer (and I’m not even counting sleep or sanity as ‘something’).

I know you’ll all forgive me and I’ll still be around for drabbles, writing tips, posts about the crazy innerworkings of my mind and whatnots. Yet, the overachiever part of me feels like reason smashed it to smithereens.

It’s a night of broken stories, my friends. Broken stories, so that dreams may come true.

Yep.

In October, I’m going to the Surrey International Writers’ Conference. I bought my ticket yesterday – a ticket that comes with a 10 minute meeting with a literary agent and a 15 minute manuscript review with a writer.

It’s a “don’t screw it up!” kind of deal.

So much so because I was lucky enough to snatch one of the three remaining spots to have Jane Espenson review one of my scripts which I hadn’t planned at all! Yikes and/or early butterflies! (Yes, I know it makes me sound like a geeky fan girl.) I’ll bring a revised version of last year’s Script Frenzy. I love that story and can’t see it in any other format.

But I digress.

Strings of Retaliation: on hold indefinitely. *lesigh*

If I can’t be a superwoman, can my days be three times as long as the rest of the world’s? Please?

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

2 responses to “Strings of Retaliation – On Hold! ;(

Leave a comment