NaNoWriMo – The Day After

Yesterday was the day after NaNoWriMo. I spent the whole day NOT writing; yesterday’s blog post was automated, today’s blog post I just wrote this morning before posting. I didn’t even reply to comments on here. Zero, nada, zilch writing. Except for work.

What I did do, however, is start planning the writing for December. 😉
As some of you know, my novel, The One Who Sees, was shipped to beta mid-october with the demand that comments come in on November 30th. Well… *drum rolls* People love it! The comments are exactly what I expected: a little tweak here, a clarification there, an emphasis on a few things. Nothing that necessitates a major rework which means that I’ll address comments as I translate the thing, which I should start before the end of the month.
Because my first mission this month is to finish Oil and Boiling Water, my NaNoWriMo novel. And by finish, I mean “make it suitable for beta reading.” I think my first draft is pretty solid but that may turn out to be a blissful illusion. We’ll see.
I’m also hard at work getting chapters of Killing Time OST ready in advance for January. And then there’s this other January project… Which I’ll probably talk about tomorrow.
And maybe another short story for publication.
You know, the usual amount of writing. *laughs*

With 95k words, I’m wholeheartedly satisfied.
With what comes this month, I’ll have three novels written by the end of the year.
Victory, all the way!

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

8 responses to “NaNoWriMo – The Day After

  • Jenn

    Awesome job, Miss Ahiela! I never doubted for a minute that you would reach your goals!

  • Tomas

    Congratulations. Your productivity inspires me. Three novels will be written by you by the end of a year, meanwhile I didn’t succeed to put even a single one for my whole life – thus your story shines like the beacon to me. Thank you for the challenging information. It maybe I will make something from my sketchbook too.

    • Aheïla

      Hi Tomas and welcome to my blog,
      My productivity has a lot to do with my focus. Last year, I noticed I kept talking about that novel I had been writing for a year and how I never had enough time to complete it and how it frustrated me.
      So as a pursuit of happiness, I chose to make time to write. To stop talking about it and make it a priority. That’s all it took.
      And I’m sure you’ll get there. 😉

  • Anna

    95k while holding down a full time job is way impressive. Three novels in one year, even more.

    I ended up with a full draft, a finished shot story and half another draft. The short story is Japan steampunk, because you were doing steampunk and I thought I ought to try the genre. I swear there’s a novel in this short story. I need only to find it.

    • Aheïla

      People have told me that since I’m a Taurus ascendant Leo when I set my mind on something nothing can stand in my way. Maybe they were right. *laughs*

      Sounds like you’ve written quite a lot too. That’s awesome! I’m glad I inspired you to try something new. Did you have any fun with it?

      And we’re long overdue for that coffee. I’ll have to use that Taurus/Leo blazing charge of mine to punch a hole in my schedule for you. I’m getting sick of saying “we should do it soon”. 😉

  • Ryan

    Congrats!!! I’m really happy for you. You’ve worked hard and you’re a talented writer. I hope you find your dreams.

    • Aheïla

      Thanks! The hard work has just begun, I think. I’m finding my pace in writing books and revising them. But I’ll have to get them out to agents which is a whole other dance I have yet to learn.

      And keep in mind that before I started this blog and got this bunch of amazing readers, I didn’t write as much. You guys have a big role to play in my motivation. 😉

Leave a comment