Song Saturday – Alice

Today, I am switching things up a little. I wanted to put up another song from my Red District series but I have a hard time nailing the last verse. I’ve been having a hard time for months. So Clishmaclaver will wait.
Instead, I am introducing another of my song series. This one is dubbed “Fairy Tales Gone Wild”.

Where Red District is about uncovering the hidden story behind a prostitute’s mask, Fairy Tales infuses a little rage in old classics, focusing more on feelings than story.
In my head, Red District has a sexy jazzy sound. It’s a musical ice-cube slurring along measures of flushed skin – sorry, the heat wave is barely breaking after beating days after days of record temperature. Red District is a tease. Fairy Tales, however, has the bang of female rock. I’ll just say that the wolf better work it if he wants to have the Little Red Riding Hood.
Obviously, in the middle of said rock, Alice had to stand out. This one is so playful I actually recorded it with a quickly improvised flute track. Yup, I play the flute as well as sing. Now, bear with me, I had just two hours to record this. It is simple and it sure as hell isn’t perfect. The idea is more to give you a sample of the texture that accompanies this song in my head.
You can listen to it on MySpace. Unfortunately, the options to manage the order of the songs is still dead so you’ll have to scroll the playlist downward a bit to find Alice.

Here are the lyrics!

Alice

Alice, Alice
Share with me your tricks
I need some bliss
Far from all those pricks

I’m in a creative stance
I need my words to finally dance
Drop on page as wonders land
And bring rampage at boredom’s last stand

Alice, Alice
How d’you pull all this?
What do I miss
To find my own abyss?

Where’s my rabbit and its hole
So I may escape this role
Give the world a brand new face
As I slowly fall from disgrace

Chat with the Cheshire cat
Where’s that caterpillar at?
Drink from the Mad Hatter’s cup
May be it’ll bring my hopes up
Shrink me ‘til I’m thin as air
So I may drown in despair
Built me up with cookie dough
Before I’m sent the way of the dodo

Alice, Alice
Why d’you look so pissed?
Isn’t there bliss
Once you are remiss?

I just need one night’s escape
To bury my freedom’s rape
A white rose turned bloody read
And now the world screams “Off with her head”

Alice, Alice
How do I survive this? 

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

2 responses to “Song Saturday – Alice

Leave a comment