If I Was a Character…

We have a saying in Quebec that goes like this: “Si on ne vaut pas une risée, on ne vaut pas grand-chose.” (translates as “If we’re not worth a derision, we’re not worth much.”) That’s one half of what inspired me to write this post. The other half is the currently on-going AW May Musical Blog Chain which made me wonder what would be the soundtrack of my life if someone was writing me.
So here comes a funny take on me as a character! Please don’t take me seriously! 😉

First, as a character, I need some editing. I mean, come on, sticking blue hair on a gothic girl with a fiery temper is hardly consistent. If I was a character, I’d have “fireman red” hair for sure. My playlist probably wouldn’t include happy hardcore and belly dance music either. Then, the writer would probably reduce the size of my breasts a little. Seriously, having that much is not useful when you work behind a desk. And when that desk is in the middle of a male-dominated environment, breasts can become annoying. Trust me on that.
I wonder if I would speak so loudly. It’s really quite disturbing for my coworkers and I’m trying to rectify that. It’s hard though because I started theatrical training when I was 5 and a half so projecting my voice is second nature. People might appreciate it if I controlled my volume better.
My schedule would probably be freer because no one would find it realistic. I doubt the writer would render my perkiness right. Again, perky gothic girl hardly seems consistent.

The song that represents my character the best is Carnival in Coal’s version of Maniac. The original song was born is the 80s, just like me. The cover is a whimsical blend of soft cheesiness and black metal (you ought to listen to it to truly grasp how that’s possible). I’m whimsical and a weird mix of things that shouldn’t necessarily mix. I’m a girl who loves shoes and elegantly applied make-up, and headbangs on black metal. The lyrics talk about a maniac of dance; I love to dance. I almost pick a belly dance song to be part of the list because of that! And last, but not least, Carnival in Coal is a French band. I’m a Quebecer with a quarter of French blood. Close enough.

When I get creative, the appropriate song is probably Caravane Palace’s Jolie Coquine. Creating is sheer fun and this song breathes that. It’s alive and energizing which embodies perfectly how I feel when I work on my stories. It has a weird assortment of instruments (not unlike a variety of characters) that work together toward an awesome whole. And it’s French too.

The soundtrack of my life at work is probably, quite simply, the song from our demo reel. Groovy and playful, it really conveys the general feel of our office. I’m also working on the sequel of one of the game you get to see in the demo reel. “Come play with me. We’ve got the world to see,” it sings. That’s why I work on games to broaden their reach and bring quality entertainment in as many homes as I can.  There’s a whole world to discover in games and people can enjoy it if we, game developers, only find the proper welcome mat for the wider audience. Plus, I’m president of the social club. And yeah, made in Quebec.

There you have it: a quick portrait of me as a character along with the soundtrack that could inspire a writer to come up with such a weirdo! I hope you enjoyed it and, fellow bloggers, don’t be afraid to do a similar exercise. You can post the link in the comments! I’ll be happy to read it!

See you tomorrow for Cassidy’s story! 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

2 responses to “If I Was a Character…

  • Phil

    Well, you’ve revealed quite a lot about yourself, some I might have guessed, though just a guess from reading your blog, and other things eyebrow raising, well, maybe not quite so severe, but all very interesting and some amusing but definitely not ordinary, which comes as no surprise!

Leave a comment