Unforeseen Dives – 12a – Meeting

<< 11b – Mending

Making our way to Aaron’s office was easier now that most people had encountered me on my way in. I still ended up there with a few flowers.
Though it wasn’t uncommon for psychics to give each other flowers – we all knew the strain the Ocean could have on someone and wanted to show support –, the amount I received was out of norm. I wondered about the reasons and realized that not only had I stopped the biggest crime ever officially countered by psychics, I had also guaranteed the funding, and jobs, of PSI for this year at least.
Rebecca smirked as she walked with me. She found the whole flowers tradition cheesy. She hated flowers. Allergies…
Aaron’s office was two floors above us, mere field agents. The large windows opened on the city’s sunny morning. It contrasted with the trite room: every thing was in shades of gray. Aaron was a quite boring man. A woman’s touch could turn this office into a corner of paradise.
Aaron’s assistant indicated that we should sit on the anthracite couch. We looked like two inconsiderate smudges of color in a black and white oeuvre. We felt like it too.
I put my flowers on the side table and we waited patiently for some time. Then, we started fidgeting. We mentally exchanged a few questions about what was going on but didn’t come up with any satisfying answers. What warranted an early morning meeting with the FBI liaison aka big boss?
This wasn’t even close to routine. Then again, neither was the crime I stopped two days ago. Formal congratulations weren’t Aaron’s style so this might not even be linked to the crime. We would have to wait for answers.
“If it isn’t my favourite ladies!”
We turned our heads toward the newcomer. Casey reached us with a stride as long as his smile. He was wearing a deep blue suit that set out his eyes and tan. He sat gracefully on the arm of the couch by my side.
“You two wouldn’t happen to have chosen to wear blue because it’s a soothing color now, would you?” I was eyeing my friends’ clothes intently.
“Really? I wasn’t aware of that.” Casey coupled a wink to his answer. As if a telepathic PR guy wouldn’t know the impact of colors on people…
“What really interests me is what the hell you’re doing here, Becky jumped in.”
“I followed an ominous note.”
We retreated in our thoughts, definitely intrigued. Had interdepartmental friendship been forbidden by a new policy? We could hardly see what justified a meeting with the three of us at once.
“May I, Casey asked?”
I nodded and offered up my hand. He enclosed it in both of his and set the bundle on his lap. Rebecca didn’t need to ask for my permission to read my mind anymore. I’d given her permanent access. Of course, Casey could spy on me without my noticing but he respected me enough not to. Besides, Becky would re-chisel his jaw if he took the liberty to scour my mind without asking.
His warm presence hugged my consciousness, gently patting the leftovers of my emotional bruises to see the extent of the damage. Of course, my partner had already given him a complete description of my state of mind but he couldn’t pass by the opportunity to see for himself. He had been worried too.
“You are the strongest woman I know, he broadcasted softly.”
“It’s just because you tend to surround yourself with brainless toothpicks.”
“Curse of the chiselled jaw.”
“Amy burnt herself when she heard he had undressed you, Rebecca commented. Scrawny and clumsy.”
“You told her, I erupted.”
“As I said I would…”
“You’re being cruel, I scolded. It’s not her fault she can’t outgrow her teenage crush.”
“It was an accident! Daniel asked me how you were, and I said you weren’t able to get out of your clothes by yourself. Amy happened to be pouring coffee…”
I sighed. Casey released my hand after brushing it softly. I entwined my fingers over my lap. Daniel chose this moment to walk in.
“I see we will all wait on our doorway to the FBI network.”
“It’s not his fault he’s still dial-up.”
Daniel glared at Casey, but the corner of his mouth twitched. He sat in the empty couch and Casey followed suit, leaving my side for a less casual seat.
“Do you know what this is about, Rebecca asked?”
“Not a clue, which is pestering me.”
The assistant’s voice came from afar, greeting the man who called us here. He finally walked in, rigid in his gray suit. What a surprise!
“Every one’s here? Good, good. Let’s cut to the chase then.”
I admired the way he acknowledged our presence without actually interacting with us. This would be a monologue. He could have recorded it and sent it instead of the note. He loved summoning people enough to tolerate the “interacting” part that inevitably ensued.
“First, on behalf of the FBI, I wanted to thank Agent Parker for her remarkable job and, to a lesser extent, thank Director Green and Agent Lowe.”
I felt bad for Daniel and Rebecca. I couldn’t have done it without them. From my point of view, they weren’t any less instrumental in the case’s success than me.
“As you probably know, that was the biggest crime ever stopped by PSI. That’s good for the image as I’m sure Mister Lang would agree. Finally something gives credibility to this agency in the public’s eyes.”
Wow! I didn’t think it was possible but the more he rambled, the less I felt thanked. My fingers dug in my palm as I waited for what could only be a painful conclusion.
“To leverage this opportunity, the Director of public relations and I decided to rearrange your assignments. Agent Lowe, a new partner has been chosen for you. Agent Parker, you are pulled off the field until further notice, effective immediately. The press needs a hero and you’re it. Mister Lang will assist you on your way to New York for your first press conference. Your flight leaves in two hours. That’s all. Have a nice day!”
Jaws dropped but besides that, no one moved.

12b – Meeting >>

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

7 responses to “Unforeseen Dives – 12a – Meeting

Leave a comment