Butterfly (acapella song)

Several months ago, I was discussing lyrics with an industrial singer-musician who’s interested in having me write for her. Though it’s sometimes tricky to pinpoint where inspiration comes from, in this particular case, the creative leaps came from the following facts:

  • She mentioned wanting to explore symbolism and mysticism.
  • She’s German, and before I left for Hamburg last year, my Quebec NaNoWriMo group started calling me Schmetterling (Butterfly.)
  • Depending of the culture, a butterfly symbolizes positive metamorphosis, the cycle of reincarnation, and the soul.

I wrote the song in a few minutes, and realized that another element had joined the mix: with any transformation, there’s a sense of fragility, and the result is uncertain. Metamorphosis is a leap of faith.

The resulting song doesn’t quite fit the “industrial” aesthetics, but it was a good exercise to get ideas flowing. Like most lyrics I write outside of a specific music project, these came with a singing melody. You’ll find the acapella phone recording below, and the complete lyrics just under that.

Hope you enjoy! Comments and critics always welcome!

Butterfly

Butterfly
He called me
Butterfly
I thought he spoke of my elegance
As I soared on by

Butterfly
He called me
Butterfly
He thought of the sweet fragrance
Of a soul to suck dry

Butterfly
Am I a
Butterfly?
When a new flame beckons
Will I burn again?

Butterfly
You called me
Butterfly
I thought you saw the torn
Membrane of my wings

Butterfly
You called me
Butterfly
You thought of a beauty born
Of needles and pins

Butterfly
Am I a
Butterfly?
When a new flame beckons
Will I burn again?

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

Leave a Reply

