WeWriWa – Treacherous Cobblestones

wewriwa_button

Hi everyone,

I’m participating in the Weekend Writing Warrior, a weekly blog event during which writers share 8 sentences of one of their projects. You should check out the others right here: http://www.wewriwa.com/. I share this post with the Snippet Sunday Facebook group, which you can find here.

We’re back with another excerpt of my steampunk novel, Oil and Boiling Water (previous excerpts here, here, here and here). We’re picking up right where we left off.

Last week, Tatiana started for the port to find a ship so she could escape her father’s control long enough to build an invention the Scholars would covet. Thunder startled her and she stumbled:

“Are you in league with the Scholars who would cover you in blood?” I said to the uneven cobblestones in an attempt to bury my fear under anger.
Lately, torches reddened some nights as the working class rioted against the University’s privileges. The people couldn’t abide the crown’s investment in research that never benefited them. Who could blame them, really? A visible break in the University’s tradition might stave off the worse, and the Scholars accepting a woman in their ranks could be such a break.
Steadying myself on a lamppost, I removed my high-heeled shoes and stockings, so I could walk faster without risk. My toes curled at the cold pavement from which the rain awoke a smell of urine. Maybe I should have kept the dreadful shoes on, but it was too late now.

Comments and critiques are welcomed!

Please note, that it may take me a bit of time to return comments left on this post. First, your Sunday is my night and Monday work hours because of the time difference. Second, I’m dedicating a lot of time to apartment searches since I need a long term accommodation by the end of the month. I’ll return every comment, but it may happen later in the week. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

18 responses to “WeWriWa – Treacherous Cobblestones

Leave a Reply

