WeWriWa – Onward

wewriwa_button

Hi everyone,

I’m participating in the Weekend Writing Warrior, a weekly blog event during which writers share 8 sentences of one of their projects. You should check out the others right here: http://www.wewriwa.com/. I share this post with the Snippet Sunday Facebook group, which you can find here.

Since you seem to enjoy this story (and since I’m still neck deep in it), I decided to keep posting excerpts from my steampunk novel, Oil and Boiling Water (previous excerpts here, here and here). We’re picking up right where we left off.

Since demure means won’t get her an invitation into the University, Tatiana sets Plan B in motion:

I lifted my wet petticoats above my ankles and stomped down Maryott Avenue, which led from the University to the port. My twin brother Damian waited for me at the Loose Cogs tavern, an establishment my friend Isobel recommended as a nest of seedy merchants and pirates. With any luck, one of the crews tied down by the storm would need a couple of deckhands, and Damian and I could escape Father’s forbiddances and reach.
The neighbourhood I walked through housed rich merchants in two or three stories of grey bricks and stern angles. A few faces peered at the street, their traits blurred by the rain.
My head held high, as befitted my rank, I ignored the onlookers as best as I could. Empirical evidence showed that snarling at buzzards only inflated their gossips.
When the thunder roared, my heart hammered and my knees buckled, thwarting my march with an ungraceful stumble.

Comments and critiques are welcomed!

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

26 responses to “WeWriWa – Onward

Leave a Reply

