Dear 2014

Dear 2014,

What a quirky year, you’ve been! I mean, let’s be honest, 2013 was a bitch. A burnout, a few lawyers, a job that didn’t work out; you didn’t have much to do to be a better year. You started out with a bang and the promise of a new beginning in Germany.

But why –oh why!– did you choose to borrow ideas for 2013?

I don’t mean to question your creative license, 2014, but couldn’t the job have worked? Don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful for the chance to live in Hamburg and Berlin, the visits in Dresden and Cologne, and that weekend in Brussels. I worked with some great people (Germans, Americans, Elsewherans) who’ve become friends. I’ll stay in contact with them and, overall, the seven months in Germany were a great experience. I would have stayed longer, though.

You made me question myself, 2014. Between two jobs not working out in a row and all the hatred that flooded the game industry through the GamerGate, I had to ask myself if I, a female game designer, was on a path I wanted to walk. All the events made me stop writing –or so nearly stop that the difference is meaningless– and I wondered how I had let that happen again.

You reminded me of who I am, 2014. Reminded me of what makes me happy. Reminded me that I can always afford to prioritize my happiness because I’m surrounded by people who’ll support me no matter what. Reminded me that I would to the same for them without question. Reminded me that through thick and thin, I have so much to be thankful for.

You’ve been blessings in disguise, 2014. Who would have thought Germany would be a gateway to Australia? Who could have known that one iffy relocation would remind me that what I need in my life doesn’t take any luggage space?

So thanks, 2014. You’ve been… interesting.

Now, 2015, I know I can’t stop you from rolling into my life. I caught a glimpse of you and you look promising. I’ll be moving to Melbourne on your fourth of January. My writing’s doing great (even if my NaNoNovel has lots and lots of plot holes), the editing’s satisfying and both will carry on. And there’s this legacy project from 2014: writing lyrics for Monica Jeffries, a dark wave/industrial German artist who heard about me from her husband who worked with me. It’s my kind of music, and she has a wonderful tone.

So yeah… farewell 2014! Good luck 2015!

Happy New Year to everyone! All the best for your 2015!

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

5 responses to “Dear 2014

Leave a Reply

