The Almighty To Do List

On a few occasions, people have been surprised by my productivity and asked how I manage to do so much. Like with my writing (which I plan out on post-its), I find that knowing where I’m going really helps relieve stress and free up space in my mind to actually get stuff done.

My days at work typically start and/or end with making/adjusting my To Do list. I draw a red or black square next to the task according to its priority and put a checkmark in the square when it’s done (which is always a satisfying moment). It takes about five minutes a day, but it ensures I don’t forget anything, lose track of what’s urgent and what’s not, and get overwhelmed. Low priority items may be postponed to the next day or week, and that’s fine as long as the important stuff is done.

During NaNoWriMo, my To Do list was my outline and my word count goals. Now that November is over, I need to make a plan for the coming months, which will be pretty amazing/busy. I got my Australian visa at the beginning of this week (a good two weeks before the expected date) and we’re officially planning for a flight on January 4th. Six moves over three continents in less than ten months; ain’t my life awesome with a side of crazy?

Before the holidays, I want to finish the first draft of Tag, You’re Me!, this year’s NaNo project. I’ve been slacking a bit this week so I still have two chapters and a half to go (about 10k). Once that’s done, I’d like to finally get through the last round of revisions on Oil and Boiling Water, my 2010 NaNo, so it’s ready for another round of queries. I’m also nursing ideas for a series of quirky character-centric short stories for this blog, which currently include The Girl Who Writes Motivational Posters and this year’s NaNo palate cleanser A Story About That Guy. Both fall somewhere in the vicinity of RomCom at this point, but that may not be true for the whole series. I’m hoping to launch these in February or March (once I’ve had a little bit of time to settle in Melbourne).

In-between all the writerly things, I’ve got friends to see, parties to attend, luggage to pack (the content of my three suitcases will be a bit different based on experience and weather difference), pre-departure paperwork to complete and post-arrival paperwork to jump start.

Oh! There’s also this blogging thing I do. 😉

What about you guys? How are your post-NaNo months looking? Any special plans for the holidays?

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

Leave a Reply

