My Temporary Workspace

As I’ve mentioned before, I moved back in my parent’s house while I wait for my Australian visa which, if all goes well, will come mid-December. There’s quite a bit of paperwork involved between now and then. I’m tackling that in the morning, and NaNo through the afternoon and evening. Getting into a routine is very important for my productivity, and after being stuck in a lot of in-between lately, I’m especially glad to fall into a familiar rhythm.

In a corner of the basement, I’ve set up The Smurf, my desktop computer with an impressive history. One of my brothers ordered the hardware, the other built and named the machine. The graphics card is a gift from a friend, and the current monitor is a loan from another friend and WriMo. The tower is about a year old and has traveled about 13,000 km by my side this year. And yes, it’s going to fly to Australia. I’ve long decided not to travel with gaming consoles that can’t handle the local encoding format, but I’m NOT leaving without my computer.

My little corner of the basement is very writerly. My NaNoWriMo outline and word count calendar (thanks MLs!) are stuck on a wall by computer, and I have my stickers handy to mark my progress.

Computer, stickers, outline, word count calendar, water, lip balm; what more could I want?

Computer, stickers, outline, word count calendar, water (sometimes tea), lip balm; what more could I want?

The kicker, though, is when I turn 180 degrees and snap another picture.

His name is Billy, by the way.

His name is Billy, by the way.

That’s right, folks! I have a fireplace and a cute furball of love right behind me. The dog is sometimes wrapped around my feet while I write.

This is where I’ll try to extract words from my skull for the month. Truth be told, this wouldn’t be possible if I wasn’t surrounded by awesome people who make my down times so much easier or, alternatively, if I wasn’t a gifted manipulative scavenger type parasite. I think the former is more accurate, but some exes may disagree. Either way, I’m a lucky woman. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

Leave a Reply

