Late Start

If you were around last week and read all of the posts about my NaNoWriMo planning, you probably got the impression –justifiably– that I was very excited by the idea of getting started on November 1st. I had kicked the tires of my project, hung a smell-good-thingy on the rear-view mirror, checked the oil… the whole shebang.

Then, on November 1st, I turned the key and instead of revving, the engine went *cough* *cough* *cough*.

Between the flight and the jet lag, I caught a mean cold that forced me to sacrifice the first day of NaNoWriMo. I slept through 80% of that day, keeping myself away from the computer as I didn’t want to be pulled in by the urge to write, refuse to rest and stretch the sickness longer than it absolutely had to. I slept a good chunk of yesterday and today too.

As a result, I’m not behind my word count for the 50k objective, but I’m a full day behind my real objective of 100k. Nothing I can’t catch up on with a little effort (I’m looking at you “Double your word count day”!)

My close-to-feverish state spawned an interesting scene for my novel, so I’m quite happy with that. I already knew that I wanted to write in a salon owned by my MC’s sister and give it an atmosphere inspired from my favorite salon (which I’ll visit on Wednesday to get my hair re-blued). As it turned out, I dialed the lovely quirkiness of Salon Dana over 9000 and it works brilliantly within the crazy universe of my novel.

I may post an excerpt later this week, but in the meantime, back to word sprints for me!

How is your NaNo going?

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

One response to “Late Start

Leave a Reply

