Moving, GDC Europe and Other Excuses

Hi everyone,

I’ve gone back to silence mode again. Shame on me. I also haven’t written or edited a single word in the past three weeks. Double-shame. I do have very good excuses, though.

First weekend of August saw the beginning of my move back to Hamburg and the visit of my parents, aunt and uncle. We had a wonderful weekend full of beer, sauerkraut and stuff. I also spent my first night in my new temporary apartment in Hamburg.

Last week was all about welcoming the new lead game designer on Drakensang in Berlin, ramping out of that project, ramping onto new projects and moving back to Hamburg. After a back and forth on Thursday, I gave back the keys to my Berlin apartment on Friday, had dinner with friends from Quebec (more beer and German foodstuff) and took the last train to Hamburg.

Last weekend, I unpacked my suitcases, made the laundry, repacked and took the Sunday train to Cologne.

This week, it’s GDC Europe and Gamescom, a week long series of interesting speeches, awesome new contacts and general celebration of games. There an odd concentration of people with blue hair here; it’s unsettling. *laughs* Seriously, though, I’m having a great time and attending some very interesting talk about games as cultural vehicles, the game industry in general, and, as a bridge between what I do in my hobbies and what I do at work, narrative structures in games. I’m taking a quick break to do some stuff for work and write this post, then I’m off to meet new people. 😉

Next weekend, I’m taking a quick trip to Brussels (because it is close to Cologne, no why not?) before heading back to Hamburg on Sunday.

And I’m in Berlin next Monday to support the Drakensang team.

So, I’m in one piece and the right kind of busy, though not the one that gives me time to write. It’ll come back. It has too. I go crazy if I don’t write for too long and that’s not good for anyone. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

2 responses to “Moving, GDC Europe and Other Excuses

Leave a Reply

