Story of the Past Month

Hello everyone,

As you may have noticed, the past month has been pretty quiet around here. In fact, the past year’s post frequency has been fairly irregular. Somewhere between the overtime, the passion I had for my job and the other things I needed to wedge into my schedule, I lost myself.

When I started my sick leave from Frima, I thought I would recover fast. I had noticed the signs early, and stopped before the burnout really settled in. Nevertheless, it took me longer than I thought to sort out the storm in my head, and be able to concentrate on writing again. I’ve been gradually re-integrating it into my life, along with cooking, training, and smaller activities I forgot I liked.

I was scheduled to go back to work tomorrow. However, due to restructuration, my position at Frima no longer exists. I thought long and hard about the alternatives they offered me. In the end, I came to the conclusion that the new positions at Frima were simple, handy, familiar options, but that none of them was the right one; my heart beat faster when I thought about doing something else, even a blurry, undefined, risky “else.”

That was me – the “me” I lost, the “me” I missed – pushing through.

So I jumped into the unknown… well… less known. *laughs*

I don’t know what will happen next, and it’s exciting! Will I look for a job here in Quebec or on the other side of the globe? Will a job find me instead? Do I want to put a few ads here, format one of my stories into an ebook and try to make writing my full time job?

*shrugs*

I’m only certain about three things:

  • I feel stronger, lighter and more passionate today than I’ve felt in quite some time.
  • Strings of Retaliation resumes this week along with my regular posting and writing tips I’ve been meaning to write for a while.
  • Whatever my next professional step is, I’m not taking it if it isn’t the right one, one that is me” and  that I can be committed to and passionate about.

To the friendly coworkers I left behind, I’ll miss you and wish you the best.

To my regular readers, I’m sorry I’ve been away and I can’t wait to interact with you again.

To the endless possibilities of life, we should grab a cup of coffee and chat. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

11 responses to “Story of the Past Month

Leave a Reply

