The Next Big Thing (2nd round)

No, you are not having a big déja vu. I have been tagged for “The Next Big Thing” for the second time! This time, Cheryl tagged me on her blog Poisoned Rose.

The idea is simple: I have to answer 10 questions about my work-in-progress. The recurring problem with me is to decide which one!

I’ve already talked about Oil and Boiling Water, my in-query-process novel (in case you care: 10 pending, 1 partial, 2 fulls, 6 rejections). I could talk about Strings of Retaliation, my serialized novel, but I assume most of you already know a whole lot about this.

Yesterday, I stumbled upon a March Madness challenge hosted by Nephele Tempest, one of the agents I met at SiWC. Since March is going to be a bit crazy for me, I decided to take part in her challenge (so should you, by the way!). That little accountability will go a long way in keeping my writing on track. If the challenge’s rule allow it (they’ll be revealed today), I’ll dive back into one of my projects that is at the stage where it both intrigues and scares the hell out of me.

10 Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing

1. What is the title of your Work In Progress?

The project was untitled until this very moment. I’ve opted for The Phoenix’s Wake.
Why? Because a freshly spontaneously combust-ed Phoenix kicks off the shit storm.

2. Where did the idea come from for your book?

I blame NaNoWriMo! I was trying to write Mr Pasty Pants (a mystery who’s main character is a professional patsy) when I stumbled upon the dreaded writer’s block. So I went back to my “shelf”, the notebook where I save ideas of all shapes and sizes.

I had one sentence penciled down that read: “Though there’s no right reaction to a first encounter with a supernatural crime scene, the bewildered disgust painted on my new partner’s face disrespected the dead woman’s memory.” (Yes, it’s a little heavy.)

From there, I discovered that said new partner was looking at a pregnant harpy severed in half.

I have no clue where the original sentence came from. *shrugs*

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Urban Fantasy with a heavy dose of thriller.

4. What actors do you imagine playing your characters?

My main character, Gael Waaks, is a Native American-looking Quetzalcoatl, a parent of the Greek Gorgons. So I need an actress who can portray a bad ass detective who just so happens to half-morph into a serpent when necessary. She comes across as rude every now and then, but she’s also mourning her partner. I think Q’orianka Kilcher or Gemma Arterton could work it.

Gael’s new partner, human detective Keith Russo, has experience in human homicide, but started in Supernatural Homicide about 5 minutes before the story begins. He’s out of his comfort zone and hates how Gael keeps reminding him of that. But he’s got balls. James Marsden would be a good fit.

5. What is a one-sentence synopsis of your book?

“The morning after her partner’s spontaneous combustion, Detective Gael Waaks is forced to re-open their old supernatural black market case with her new human partner.”

Alternatively, because I like this type of thing, I would say “Buddy cop film meets monster movie.” (I’ll eventually narrow it down to precise titles for both inspirations.)

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

This is one of the projects I’ll try to get represented once it’s done (as opposed to the ones I serialize for this blog, and the ones I plan to package/rewrite and self-publish).

7. How long did it take you to finish the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m only 6 chapters in at this point and most of them have in-built gigantic plot holes. I’ll go back to outlining, get the mythology straight and rework the whole thing.

8. What other books would you compare this story to in your genre?

I want it centered around team dynamics and a big impending doom/bad guy. The main character isn’t as directly threatened as in Kim Harrison’s The Hollows series, but has a definite vested interest of another nature. Faith Hunter’s Jane Yellowrock series features a Native American lead female (much like mine), but though they exist in my world, vampires, werewolves and other classics don’t take nearly as much space as mythological monsters (and not gods or myths as other Greek-inspired Urban Fantasy I’ve seen).

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

*shrugs* I just wanted to play with it.

10. What else about your book might pique your readers’ interest?

Excerpts 1 and 2 (un-edited NaNo) ought to do the trick. Who would resist dead harpies in Delaware and a “serpent versus eagle” fight on the highway?

              

This wraps up my ten questions and now I have to tag other people. Again. Let’s see if I can be original in my picks:

  • Anne Michaud, fellow Québécoise writing in English. She’s great and about to start a blog tour that’ll bring her here on April 26th.
  • Aimee Laine and Claire Gillian, because it has been way too long since I chatted with these girls and want to catch up with what they are up to!
  • Nicole Camp, because she’s friendly and she deserves a shout for listing me as a “fun tweeter” at every Follow Friday.

Ladies, the floor is yours (should you want to take it)!

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

3 responses to “The Next Big Thing (2nd round)

Leave a Reply

