2012, What Shall You Bring?

Some people make resolutions on January 1st and give them up by the end of the week. Others say resolutions are crap and no one can ever hold onto them.
Others, like me, set on a path at the beginning of the New Year and keep pushing in a direction they know will make them happier, better people.

2010 was all about getting my writing together. Sitting down and finishing a darn novel. Finding the time to write instead of whining about it.
I wrote 300k that year, not counting most of my blog posts.

2011 was about change. I had been burnt. I was a bit down – though seeing the positive in the situation because that’s what I do. I wanted to move forward and have a better control over my professional career. I wanted to bring myself closer to the person I know I should be physically, mentally, spiritually and a whole lot of other things too.
I’m happier than ever in my work, just got a promotion and lost 60 pounds.

2012. Well. I want to keep all this up, of course. I still have 40 pounds to shed – and I like these muscles that are beginning to form so I’ll keep working on these too. I still have stories to tell – shocking, I know.
I’m also working on responsibility and ditching some childish/silly/bad habits. Two things have to change.
First, I must keep better track of my money; besides the day to day stuff, I’m completely hopeless and if I want that house or that expensive computer and kneeling chair set up, I have to pay attention and start saving seriously. I’ve put some money in a retirement account at my old job and I have no clue how much is in there. *rolls her eyes at herself*
I’m an adult, darn it! I’m supposed to mind this stuff!
Second, I have to get rid of my tendency to drop chores when I’m on a writing spree – side-effect of 2010. I’ll allow it in November but not the rest of the year. Sometimes I wish I had a roommate or a boyfriend to yell at me when the dishes start piling up. It’s too easy to forget them when you’re the only one they bother.

On the writing side, a lot’s happening, as usual:

  • Oil and Boiling Water is 70% edited and should be shipped to Beta readers by mid-January. I can’t wait to get feedback. I also can’t wait to start querying it. If I could find an agent by the end of the year, I would do the happy dance for a whole week.
  • Lorelei will be returning in February in the sequel of Killing Time OST. So now would be the time to catch up before the premiere of whatever-that-sequel’s-name’ll-turn-out-to-be. Death Toll Score? Vendetta’s Melody? Whistle While You Maim? I haven’t settled yet. So many possibilities…
  • I’ll also be finishing Some People Never Learn as soon as my muse swings by again. She’s been quite capricious lately.
  • Any other project. I have, after all, a fantasy and a scifi story leftover from NaNoWriMo…
What about you? Any resolution? Writerly ones?

 

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

3 responses to “2012, What Shall You Bring?

Leave a Reply

