NaNoWriMo – Where’s my Focus?

In the midst of the creative abandon that is NaNoWriMo, there’s always a point in time when my brain rebels. Either it’ll completely stop producing anything worthwhile, or do the exact opposite and bombard every inch of my cranial walls until ideas pour out of my skull.

Yes, it’s that bloody – and often comes with a migraine too.

Whenever one of these things happen, I save, close and back-up my NaNoWriMo project and open up a brand new file.

If I have a case of no idea at all, I put two items in my immediate surroundings in relation and start writing. What if my hand cream has no patience for the post-it notes and has to endure the fact that I always put them next to each other? Maybe my tea cup writes her biography and her love and hate for all the teas she has met. How about my pathetic Transformer who can,t transform?
Anything at all. These stories will never be seen by anyone. Ever. Don’t even ask for “Chronicles from the Writeaholic’s Desk”. Won’t happen.
But they get me through to my word count for that day. And on the next day, I’m so happy to go back to my main story.

If I have too many ideas, I mix them together or pick one and run with it. That’s what happened during the Grand Word Orgy with the Quebec WriMos. I had woken up with a strange idea that morning (a mix between several of my existing main characters and Riddick, for some obscure reason). I decided to write that instead of driving myself crazy trying not to think about it. So the snarky, ageless, giant, kick-ass, female, anti-hero warrior who sees the future began her story behind bars and spent the night working her way out of jail and into a lab to remix some DNA.
Yup.
8k.
And on the next day, I was so happy to go back to my main story.

So, how do you manage to stay focused during NaNoWriMo? Am I the only one going completely off track for the sake of sanity?

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

Leave a Reply

