NaNoWriMo, Mistakes and Me

Hello everyone,

We’re in the second week of NaNoWriMo and I’ll write myself past the 35k mark at lunch time. Given my objective of a 100k, I’m about two days ahead of schedule.
Last weekend saw me typing the last sentences of Oil and Boiling Water, my NaNo novel from last week. I was going to write it a little bit further until two sentences jumped in my face and told me they were the end.
It happens.

Now, I’m working on a new story which almost didn’t plan for. I had an idea and a first paragraph. I opened a new version of my novel template in Word and started typing.

Let me tell you a bit about that template.

It’s fairly simple, really. It’s formatted in the way most agents like to receive manuscript. The tabulation at the beginning of each paragraph is automatically done.

But the most important thing is that I have a preset style for chapter’s title: bold letters, centered, past the upper third of the page. Then a reasonable space between it an the fiction stuff.

Why? Well, it looks great. But most importantly, all that free space is where I stick colorful text fields and write editing note.

I know the NaNo philosophy is to shut up the inner editor and I do a fairly good job with mine but somethings just bug me down. I’ll obsess over them until they are edited or until I’m sure they will be edited.

Hence the editing notes taken as I NaNo.

That’s my way to cope with the weak prose and silly plot twists.

What’s yours?

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

6 responses to “NaNoWriMo, Mistakes and Me

  • tara tyler

    you are an amazing writing machine!
    what a goal!
    good luck with whichever story path you choose =)

    • Aheïla

      Thank you Tara! I try to push myself every year for NaNo. It might sound weird to say but after this month is over, doing 30 to 40k a month to keep up with the blogging and other writing really isn’t so hard. 😄

  • Robin Hawke

    Usually I highlight words I want to edit during a reading pass. That doesn’t work during NaNo. Every word would be yellow if I started highlighting.

    My newest take on what happens after NaNo: I avoid the words I’ve written, keep the scenes, move them around, write them over. Go back to NaNoWritings to see if something jumps out. I think this will yield a better product than editing NaNoWriting.

    Robin

    • Aheïla

      I too use highlights for words or sentences I know are wrong/suck. It keeps me from getting bugged down on finding the perfect word.

      Using only the scenes and general ideas from the NaNo seems like a good take on it. It all depends on what you had getting in. Since I usually have an outline, that part of my novel is hammered out before the frenzy so my NaNoWriting is fairly solid.
      “Fairly” being the operative word. A lot of line edits come after.

  • Hunger

    I’m not going to even attempt to reread any of what I’ve written until NaNo is over. I’d be so busy editing…

    • Aheïla

      I never ever read back either.
      Wait. There’s one exception.
      I do reread for the excerpt I post on Fridays which I pinpoint as I write them and barely edit before posting. I cautiously avoid everything else. *laughs*

Leave a Reply

