On Writing – My Relationship with Angles

Though people who know me may say I’m the “straightforward, get out of my way or join the party” kinda gal, the truth is that I like angles in my entertainment. Refreshing, heartbreaking, disturbing, peculiar, original angles. Truth be told, if the angle of approach to the subject is unique, I’m in.

Why watch a cop show with jaded seasoned veterans fighting crime and their personal issues when I can watch Rookie Blue? It’s a cop show but the main characters are fresh out of the academy and learning the ropes. Though there are some funny scenes, they’re not taking the “look how silly they are” approach. It’s more about how civilians suddenly thrown into real police work struggles with the responsibilities and emotional repercussions of such a demanding job. And how all this may eventually turn them into jaded seasoned veterans.
It’s refreshing and I love it.

P.S. I Love You is basically a romance movie where one of the characters is dead.
It’s heartbreaking and I love it.

Memento is a mystery movie with a weird structure: the first scene, and then the last scene, and then the second scene, and then the scene before the last scene… So the ending is actually the middle of the movie if you put it in the proper order.
It’s disturbing and I love it.

Why have some girl tell me how soft her skin is with that soap when I can watch the Old Spice Guy? If you don’t know what I’m talking about, pop open YouTube, will you? This is the most entertaining and viral ad campaign I’ve ever seen.
It’s peculiar and I love it.

Why watch things explode everywhere and be told about the amazing new features of a game console when I can have this?

It’s original and I love it.

I noticed that I like angles in my entertainment and I tend to take them in my writing as well. I don’t like the straightforward approach to a story because, to me, it doesn’t have enough flavor. I want to challenge myself by telling a story people know in a way they don’t know at all.
That’s what hooks me into my plots.

The fact is that if we, writer, find a great angle and exploit it well, it makes our story easy to sell and, oftentimes, memorable.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

2 responses to “On Writing – My Relationship with Angles

Leave a Reply

