How About Those Projects?

Well, I’m glad you asked (kinda) because I could use some pep talk and/or butt-kicking – I leave the approach up to you as long as it yields satisfying results.

My projects aren’t going. Not anywhere, not at all. Well, almost at all.

These days, everyone – real people at work and fake people between my ears – wants a piece of my brains so I feel like giving them a piece of my mind instead. It’s not even justified or fair or rational. I’m just grumpy.

Me. Grumpy. Yep, you should frame it.

I hate feeling this way. I don’t want to bite someone’s head off and I annoy myself when I rant – like right about now.

So when I get home from work, I watch TV, take a bubble bath, cook myself something or just sleep; none of which is conducive to writing.

I’m I-don’t-even-want-to-know how far behind on my Camp NaNoWrimo word count (which means my novel isn’t moving forward, which means I must likely won’t go to Surrey’s International Writer Conference after all) and I have barely started my WeSeWriMo writing.

Hell, I’m so “beh… writing” that I’m taping this at the speed of light without putting handy hyperlinks everywhere.

How dare I leave it up to you to Google the stuff I’m referring to?!

This. Has. To. Stop.

*lesigh*

At least, it’s a somewhat funny rant.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

3 responses to “How About Those Projects?

  • TJ Lubrano

    Ciao Émilie!! I think it’s only normal to go through something like this! For a long time on Twitter, I read your tweets on all the amazing things you wrote and I truly admire you for that! Maybe all those deadlines and obligations to write made it less fun without you noticing it?

    So don’t ponder too much about it, accept that it’s only normal to have to go through something like this and remember that it will come back! It always does!! You’re a writer at heart, you just need to shift your thoughts to others things and before you know it your inspiration will be back! And when it’s back… you probably have more ideas than ever ^_^

    I won’t kick your behind and say ‘WRITE!’, to me, writing is natural process. I send you lots of inspiring thoughts so you will be back to your kickass writing soon!!!

    Xxx TJ

  • NeoBluePanther

    I can completely understand how you feel, because I am going through a similar phase myself. The only way that I have figured out of the situation is to take one project at a time, and finish it.

    Finishing something that we have started gives us a huge high, and acts as a motivational boost that can help us to finish our remaining projects. Unfinished projects, on the other hand, have the exact opposite effect on us.

    Best of luck for your writing! 🙂

  • Ryan

    I agree with TJ and NeoBlue. Don’t stress or push yourself past your limits. Yes, limits. We’ve all got them. I’ve said this before more or less. But do you listen to me? Noooooo! Inspiration will return cuz the talent and creativity are there. Just pace yourself. Btw… the rant is kinda funny, yes.

Leave a Reply

