Challenges for August

After falling behind on my objective in the month of July, I’ve decided to kick myself back into writerly shape. What’s the best way to do that? Being held responsible for my successes and failure.
So after much thought, I’ve decided to join Camp NaNoWriMo and WeSeWriMo.
Yep.
It’s not exactly two different challenges, though.

Camp NaNoWriMo is organized by the Office of Letters and Lights (founders of the original NaNoWriMo). As with its parent, the goal is to write 50,000 words within a month. I intend to do that. Last November, I pushed to 100k during NaNo but I won’t challenge myself that much this time around – mostly because I have other things to do and because I’d hate to lose all sense of social life for a month during summer.

WeSeWriMo (Web Series Writing Month) is an initiative from EpiGuide. It challenges us to reach self-imposed objectives in  the writing of our web series. I did it last year too. My goals are to outline the sequel to Unforeseen Dives and write 20k of it at least.

So on the writing front, I’m targeting 50k, 20,000 of which will be on Cassidy’s adventure. I need about another 15k to complete Oil and Boiling Water. What’ll happen with the rest? *shrugs* I’ll come up with something.

On top of that, there’s some editing to do as well! I would like to ship Oil and Boiling Water to betas at the end of August and I promised to start posting Cassidy the first week of September. This means that writing them isn’t gonna cut it. I’ll need to polish them as well before the month’s end.

Oh! I’ve got two guest blogs to write as well. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

13 responses to “Challenges for August

  • Fallen Red Ninja

    WeSeWriMo?
    Sounds like it might just be what a certain procrastininja might need to get around to writing and recording more than the first episode of a podcast series.

    Hmmm.

    • Aheïla

      Might be. If I knew any such ninja, I would definitely encourage her to participate. 😉

      • Fallen Red Ninja

        Okay, so I’ve signed up for an account. Just waiting for it to be confirmed so I can sign up officially!
        Otherwise I’ll just have to ninja it from the sidelines.

      • Aheïla

        That’s awesome! We’ll support each other through this mad endeavor. 😉

      • Fallen Red Ninja

        Well, I’ve signed up and started a new posterous to post on.
        I think that makes it official!

        Onwards to victory!

      • Aheïla

        Yay! Onwards indeed! What is/are your objective(s) for the month?

      • Fallen Red Ninja

        I’m working on two projects.

        One is a webcomic, based around theatrical shenanigans. The goals for that are to storyboard 8 of them, hopefully including inking and colouring them! And to write the scripts for at least 12 more.

        The other is a podcast that I’ve been talking about starting for months. The goals for that are to write 8 rough scripts, including the research needed for games etc. And to get 2 of them recorded and released.

        In other words, possibly more than I can chew but it’s going to be amazing to try!

      • Aheïla

        Oh yes! That sounds like a lot (depending on the length of each thing of course). Both projects are really interesting though (says the girl who took acting classes for 10 years and currently works in games).

  • Hunger

    I’m doing Camp Nanowrimo as well… and I did it in July, too. Except that did not turn out the way I wanted it to at all… it started out as a story which was pretty much like a backward fairy tale (Humans didn’t exist to fairies). Then it switched to a plot that I did for last years Nano, only it morphed into something totally stupid and pointless. Then I just did a bunch of random short stories and drabbles.

    Anyway, for August I’m gonna be writing about mermaids. We’ll see how that goes…

    • Aheïla

      Hello Hunger and welcome to my blog!

      Yeah! That happens sometimes. It’s good that you’re giving it another go. I hope your mermaids will be inspiring enough for you to write something you’re happy with! 😉

  • Jenn

    Sounds like you are going to have a very busy month! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

