Drabble – Linchpin

I’ll just start by saying  that I had an amazing week! My linchpin worked and solved a bunch of problems.
And I got new shoes. Gosh, it feels good not to look up every time I talk to someone!

Anyway, here is the drabble for this week’s Drabble Challenge!
(And I’ll be catching up on my reading this weekend. I foresee overtime in my near future.)

Linchpin
The broken pieces trembled, their clatter a wordless lament as they yearned for reunion. They thumped together, momentarily further apart then closing in again without ever touching. They performed their duty of feeding the organism. A trusted epicenter, shattered or not, they thumped again. The pieces had never smashed into such a complex jigsaw puzzle before. Could they heal without a scar forever advertising their involuntary demise?
Wait…
They had just skipped a beat.
Around the eye of the whirlwind, the pieces started to spin. Then, pulled by a sudden vacuum, they came together again.
The mended heart beat anew.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

8 responses to “Drabble – Linchpin

  • mish

    A big thumbs-up to your drabble A !! 🙂
    It’s written in such a way that it allows the reader to fill in the blanks represented by the puzzle pieces , with whatever he needs to . It also conveys the sense of the linchpin being the powerhouse that keeps all the puzzle pieces constantly moving around , in the vicinity of the epicentre … 🙂

    • Aheïla

      It’s not too obscure! Victory!
      Thanks for the thumbs-up Mish.
      I’ll reading everyone’s latest drabbles by the end of the day. Can’t wait to see what I’ll find for the different themes!

  • Jenn

    I’m with Mish…2 thumbs up! That’s a great drabble.

  • Ryan

    I liked it, too. Your description allows me to visualize the motion and the result. Nice one, Aheila!

  • Andrew Carson

    I love the descriptive style to your writing in this drabble it both describes the scenario in a glaring light yet also allows the reader to let free their own imagination to fill in the edges truly incredibly well written. I’m glad you have had such a great week hopefully next week will be even better.

    • Aheïla

      Thanks, Andrew!
      I wanted to ask, are you taking part in Script Frenzy next month? I’ll try too so I’m curious to know who else from my writer friends does.
      I don’t think next week can top this one; I might get an ego problem if it does. *laughs* I welcome your good wishes, though! Who knows maybe it’ll be good to another aspect of my life. 😉

Leave a Reply

