A Couple of Weeks Off

Hello everyone,

With the new job just starting (two weeks ago actually), I find myself struggling to get back in the swing of things. It used to be easy, after two years at the same job, to balance out work, chores, writing and life. These days, I barely make my writing objectives and it makes me bitter – it’s not a frustration at myself, it’s me being dissatisfied by my current schedule. I don’t want it to turn into the unhappiness of a year and a half ago (before I started this blog and actively started working on my writing).
I need to find my new footing.

Consequently, I’m taking a couple of weeks off the blog.

What does that mean? It means that Killing Time OST will continue on its regular schedule and so will the Drabble Challenges. So you’ll still have something to read four days a week. I might not reply to comments as diligently though, but I’ll get around to them.
It also means that I hope to return stronger. I want to resume my writing tips and it bothers me that all I have to offer these days are stories and the quickly written “Chatterbox” posts. I’m not diminishing the value of either posts but I want to share my writing techniques and whatnots again. And for that, I need to restore my balance.

And I’m also working on a second blog that I hope to launch soon. Why? Because I need to talk about my job too. That’s another thing to work into a healthy schedule.

So don’t be alarmed. You’ll probably barely notice I’m less present. And then I’ll be back.
Stronger than ever! 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

9 responses to “A Couple of Weeks Off

  • Ryan

    I really don’t know how you do it! I’ve said that before. It’s remarkable that you’re so motivated and committed. Don’t overdo though. (I know you won’t do that.) 😉

  • Jenn

    Of course we understand! And you know that you can always drop me a line if you need to talk to someone!

  • Andrew Carson

    Hi Aheila, everyone needs to take a break from time to time to recharge those creative batteries and I don’t think I’d be the only one to say you deserve that break as you work incredibly hard. Good luck with your new blog and I look forward to reading about your job and your writing tips and stories.

    • Aheïla

      Hey Andrew,
      You’re absolutely right; breaks are an essential part of the creative process.
      I’ll probably only get my new blog up in May as I plan on doing Script Frenzy which supercharges my schedule for March and April.

  • mish

    Hey A ~~ It would be a well~deserved break ! An opportunity to relax , re-charge those creative batteries and rejuvenate the creative spirit .
    Enjoy !!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

