Drabble Day – Edge – My Story

Hey everyone,

As promised I’m posting my story for today’s Drabble Challenge.
I hope you like it!

Edge
The quilt slid fast under my fingers, blood staining childhood memories with the menace I’ve been raised to fight.
“No one will look twice.” Grandma had said while she edged the quilt. “The seed will be safe until He comes back.”
Finding the bump, I bit down, gritting my teeth to weaken the fabric.
Under His assault, the door cracked.
He’ll kill me soon.
Tears streamed down my cheeks. As a desperate yelp escaped me, the fibers parted. The seed slid down my throat. Its power crackled through me.
When the door slammed open, He looked at me and paled.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

19 responses to “Drabble Day – Edge – My Story

  • Jitter Johnny

    First comment, and whoa! That. is. awesome. It takes a couple of reads, but it is beautiful, and the ending is just perfect. Great piece.

    • Aheïla

      I was a bit afraid there were too many things to piece together but on the other hand, I thought the disjointed information served the general tension and were more truthful to the character’s state of mind.
      I’m glad it works! *sighs in relief*

  • Jitter Johnny

    Thank you for your comment on my drabble.

  • Ryan

    Hm. Powerful and unusual imagery in this one, A! I also read it twice, and it leaves the reader with several intriguing interpretations. Nice!

    My drabble is here…
    http://wp.me/p13Itw-gu

    Enjoy! 😉

    • Aheïla

      Thank you! Now that a re-read my drabble with a bit of distance, I realize it would probably have been easier to grasp if I had used a little less variety of vocabulary (i.e. quilt is also implied in bump, fabric and fiber) and if I had clarified the link between the seed and the quilt a bit more.

      I read and commented on yours.

  • hearandlearn

    Aheila, just as I got much more laughter in the movie, Blazzing Saddles, under the influence of mucho pot. I fear my feeble mind would need to be under the influence of some drug before I get the meaning of your drabble. This is no slam on you, my fault, my mind is not up to the challenge.

    Edge

    My early adult years were full of taking things to the absolute edge of their performance envelope. Although not visible, one’s mind can often see the edge as I bounded over it and into a status of life amuck. I said bye-bye to that edge while driving a 1200 CC Susuki to what evidently was beyond both the bike’s and my abilities. My flight off that bike seemed to take 30 minutes, but as it turns out, at 170 MPH it really takes much less time to cover 242 feet! I saw another edge approach me during this flight, it was called my life, and the ground was kind enough to make me stop just shy of that Oops.

    While skydiving with my Navy buddies, I saw a few more edges. The edge of reason, the edge of reason, the edge of sanity, the edge of flying faster than an airplane, and again, the edge of my life. We jumped at 14,000 feet, and about three seconds into free-flight my beloved back decided to give me the mother of all spasms. I so preoccupied with the pain, pulling the rip cord had not entered my mind. Finally it did, but there was one problem, no chute. While I’m not proud of it, I flew well past another edge, the one that decided if I was going to load my pants. That seemed a minor inconvenience at the time, as I was streaking towards the edge of space called, earth, at over 200 MPH. Of all the things i wanted to be when I grew up, missile was nowhere on the list. Somewhere in the confusion I managed to pull the rip cord of the emergency chute, but before I knew it, THUMP, I hit the ground. More edges, these were known as bones in my body that were poking me. Right before I got the emergency chute deployed, that infamous edge of my life appeared to me, and it was approaching at warp 9.9! It wasn’t until some time in the hospital that I managed to stop just short of that one.

    Hot air ballooning always interested me, it was such a great feeling, the calm flowing along with the breeze. I was just a passenger. The pilot and owner were in control. He decided to climb really high, and we all enjoyed the tremendous view. The day was cloudy, but no chance of rain they said. Suddenly a huge gust of downdraft air plunged our balloon towards the ground, and I saw that damn life edge again. An interesting edge saved us all, it was called a large group of evergreen trees, and as it turns out those lovely trees safely caught us, balloon and all, and held us about 12 feet above the ground until we could climb down on ropes. That edge of life seemed so close, but as it turnsd out it really never got close to us. Love those evergreen trees!

    In 1973 the edge of life approached from an entirely different angle. While walking through Battery Park in Charleston, S.C., a cab came to a screeching halt and the driver, who spoke darm little english, pointed to the back seat of the cab, with all the urgency and energy possible. An extremely pregnant woman was in the back seat and she was pretty sure she was going to deliver that baby, NOW! So this 20 year old sailor helped the lady out.Once I was holding the baby, awfully proud of myself, I looked down at the baby girl and realized I had just seen the other, most precious edge of life. Take Care All! Don

    • Aheïla

      I was afraid that might happen! *laughs*

      There is some very strong images in your story. I think it would have been stronger in a shorter version. The length and repetition dilutes a part of the emotional weight of each scene which is sad because, as I said, the events are interesting. 😉

  • Dennis M Lane

    Really enjoyed this, The layers that hinted at a much larger story that, ultimately, was not needed.

    Fast paced and complete just as it is!

  • Sketching Girl

    I also had to read it twice, after the first read my mind was like ‘What?’, then after the second read it made more sense to me, and I like it! 🙂

  • Jenn

    Go Grandma! I’m thinking oh no at the beginning of this tale & then you go & have her become so powerful! Awesome *grin*

  • mish

    Hey A ~~ really loaded piece of writing with such potent imagery !

  • Drabble day – Edge | Re Gypsy's Blog

    […] of Aheïla’s weekly drabble challenge. A drabble is a piece of fiction that’s 100 words. This weeks prompt was … Edge. Enjoy […]

Leave a Reply

