Threatening My Brain

Me and my brain have an intense love/hate relationship. As some of you might remember, there even came a time when I wanted to divorce it. Back then, the problem was the insane amount of different stories partying between my ears. After I almost left with half the furniture, my brain finally agreed to work with me.

For a time, everything was peachy. We found our common ground and fell into a comfortable cruising speed of task completion. Life was good.

And then troubles reared their ugly regrowing Hydra-type heads.

Now, all my brain wants to do is procrastinate. It would rather play solitaire than focus on my stories. What’s up with that? As if I haven’t treated it right!
I have a delicious cup of pumpkin-flavored chai tea.  Instrumental music is playing. My cat/writing buddy is purring on my lap. What more should I do? Go to counselling?

I think I’ll opt for brainless tasks; a round of mending and ironing out to snap some senses into my brain.

 

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

15 responses to “Threatening My Brain

  • Aimee Laine

    Sometimes? It’s a break that kicks it into gear. 🙂 I know the feeling! 🙂

  • Alyssa

    Dahlin, lol, I played Age of Empires for 4 HOURS today. And, i really really really should be writing.
    So, yes – i know where you’re coming from, lol. Where’s those divorce papers?!

    • Aheïla

      Oh my gosh! I haven’t played Age of Empires for… well… AGES!
      I’ve been watching White Collar episodes back to back when I really really really should be writing. But as your writing buddy I am officially putting an end to our procrastination! 😉

  • Jitter Johnny

    I know exactly what you’re talking about. I want to start writing again off blog, and all I seem to do is play time wasters (those flash games on so many sites). I really wanted to jump into, say, a short story, but there seems to be something keeping me behind the fence.

    Off topic, really dig your blog, I think you’re a great writer, and the absolute writer water cooler forums are already bookmarked, for when I actually jump the fence…

    • Aheïla

      Hello Jitter Johnny and welcome to my blog,
      I guess we each have our time wasters. Did you know I actually designed over 25 Flash games (it’s my job)?

      I remember the day I started my first novel; I really wanted to write something and had no idea whatsoever. At the end of the day, just when I was about to fall asleep, it struck me. I wrote the whole night away. *laughs*

      Thank you for the kind comment! And AW is a wonderful resource for aspiring writers and published writers alike. It’s really a great community.

  • Andrew G. Carson

    I’ve been stuck in a similar situation for the last month as anyone who has read my blog would attest to, lol, at this stage I could recall it “ The Housebound Procrastinator “. I can‘t even tell if that last sentence makes sense as I haven‘t slept a lot recently, I think like 8 or 9 hours in the last two weeks my brain seems to be putting that off too. So I don’t have any great or even good answers for the problem well I did but that is now a no-no but I have some well meaning but alas useless advice and here it is- take this time to perform non creative tasks to give the creative side of your brain a rest and hopefully it should get back to normal in no time and if that fails read a well recommended novel or go to an art exhibit to see if that gets your creative juices flowing again. Does any of that make sense at all?

    Oh I nearly forgot to mention my Gran got out of the hospital on Saturday and is doing great although she still has the cast on her leg and is looking at anything from a further 3 to 9 weeks with it on.

    • Aheïla

      Hey Andrew,
      Yes, your advice makes sense. I should actually make a habit of going to the museum. It’s that kind of activity that never makes it on my schedule but really should be there.
      I hope you get out of your procrastination loop soon! 😉

      I’m glad your Gran is alright. That’s a load off your mind.

  • Ryan

    So you’re listening to your brain, trying to get along, find common ground. You can work together (even when one of you is stubborn!) but take breaks, too. You both need them. We all do.

  • hearandlearn

    I must be missing the message here. Most of the things I’ve done that brought me the most joy, involved no brain activity whatsoever! The brain would have just got in the way actually. Not really being a writer, I shouldn’t comment, but since I like the sound of my own words, I gotta! Suggestion for you. Think back about the remarkable times in your life, and tell us about them! LOL, if you do good, maybe I’ll tell you about delivering a baby on an emergency basis! And, like the back end of a centipede, the brain will eventually catch up! TC Don

    • Aheïla

      One of the things that brings me the most joy and satisfaction is writing stories and reading people’s reactions to them. So I really need my brain.
      I do agree that a bunch of great activities do not involve the brain, though.
      As for your suggestion, the ideas are not missing in this head of mine, only the concentration to sit down and put them to paper. But it’s all better now. 😉
      Thanks for your comment!

  • Jenn

    Aw, I hope you get out of your war! When I want to think on something & sort things out, I have to do something physical. Take a walk, do the dishes etc. Or every once in a while, I’ll go back & re-read a fav book. Then I’ll get into a scene which inspires something new. Good luck!

  • NaNoWriMo Prep – Step 1 – The Notebook | The Writeaholic's Blog

    […] my ideas and a bargaining chip with my brain (with which I have a love/hate relationship, as shown countless times before). The deal is simple: if it’s in the notebook, it has no place in my mind for […]

Leave a Reply

