Drabble Day – Language

I don’t know how I chose today’s theme and don’t have any fun introduction for it. *shrugs* I can’t be entertaining all the time. 😉

Here is how the drabble challenge works!

  • Read the prompt and find your angle.
  • Write a drabble (100 words story, give or take five words).
  • Post a direct link to your drabble in the comments (or, if you don’t have a blog, just go ahead and post your drabble in the comments).

Today’s prompt is: Language!
Random fact: This is the 13th drabble day. Freaky! NOT!

Language
I swear the tower of Babel couldn’t have been more confusing. There are people I can’t decode: Pete is definitely one of them. I usually read the signs and body language in the first minute spent in a guy’s company but his signals confuse me. Like a mix of Russian and Cantonese, completely undecipherable.
Jenny dragged me away for a moment.
“Should I pretend I have something better to do?”
“No,” I sighed. “I’m not sure he’s the guy.”
“But the signs!”
“I know. Let’s soften him up in a cell and I’ll take another shot at breaking him tomorrow.”

 

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

16 responses to “Drabble Day – Language

  • Ryan

    Nice twist! I like the flow, too… quick and natural.

  • Re Gypsy

    Freaky 13, really? OOOOOOOh….
    P.S. I agree with Ryan, it pulls you in and flows smoothly. X

  • mish

    I agree with R & G ~~ it captures the attention and then allows for smooth and easy reading thereafter !

  • Don Cunningham

    Hello! I loved your Drabble! Drew me in then thumped me on the head! Thank You!

    Language, Or The Lack Thereof

    Having been so fortunate to have traveled around the world in my earlier days. My heart sings, laughs, burps, and bubbles at my language experiences! It always gives me great joy to watch Americans in foreign countries, trying to communicate with the locals. Americans seem to be absolutely convinced that if they talk slowly enough, any Russian, Chinese, African Bush Native, or Brazilian princess will be able to understand them. The look on these poor locals’ faces are Kodak moments for sure! Makes one wonder if our english teachers in school used the same method to teach us our language, LOL! While my favorite thing to watch people ask for in other countries is, restroom facilities, I have found we Americans can get quite animated, if not dramatic, when asking for the simplest thing. Many now know of the traditional, WC, that many countries recognize, but Americans, bless their hearts, still just say, “W…..C” slowly to get their request known! Still, with all the countries that do speak English in the world, they continue to fail to understand each other. Did you know that China has more English-speaking people than America? Yep! Sad to say for our world, language really is not the barrier between us. These days, with cell phones and the like, we are in touch with everybody, all the time. Yet, no one is really listening. I miss party lines!

    • Aheïla

      I’m glad you enjoyed it and I really enjoyed yours. Even within a same language people seem allergic to reformulation or plainly “trying to say it another way” (be it with a drawing, a gesture or whatnot). Communication isn’t easy which is why both parties need to adapt, not just one making all the effort to understand the other.

  • Jenn

    Hmmm…sounds like the opening scene to Criminal Minds lol. I love that show & this sounds like it could be part of that show or something similar.

  • Drabble challenge – Language | Re Gypsy's Blog

    […] of Aheïla’s weekly drabble challenge. A drabble is a piece of fiction that’s 100 words. This weeks prompt was … Language. […]

  • mish

    Well , here it is . This is my drabble on the prompt : LANGUAGE .

    The silence was heavy .
    “Where to from here ?” She was always direct .

    His face revealed nothing .
    “It’s probably too late …, ” he sighed , as if on cue . “I’ll pack my bags .”

    The bastard . What a nerve , thinking it was that simple .
    “You never talk ,” she said aloud .
    Next to the remnants of a half-eaten dinner , the candle flickered .

    “What do you want me to say ?” He was seldom disagreeable .

    “Something ? Anything ! Curse ! Swear !!”
    She shrugged . It didn’t matter after all .
    He smiled , the true master of verbal diplomacy .

    The tiny microphone pressed softly against her shoulder blade …

Leave a Reply

