First Year Tally – Natasha Bennett

Today’s guest blogger is another person I met on the Absolute Write Water Cooler Forums. Natasha Bennett is a Canadian author and has published two e-books, War of the Soulites and War of the Soulites 2 : Ouroboros, along with several short stories. In her spare time she likes to help other authors by hosting interviews and reviews on her blog. Her website is http://www.warofthesoulites.com and her blog is tashabenett.blogspot.com.
Here is her First Year Tally post!

I have always wanted to be an author ever since I was eight years old. While my teachers would drone on and on in class, I would be in the back of the room writing fantasy stories. While these stories would never see the light of publishing, they were great practice. To this day, every time I think of college, I can’t think of any other career I would want to pursue, besides writing.  While it was true that I could have taken some English classes, a smart author will never tell a publisher they have degrees in writing. Why? Because most of the time, the publisher doesn’t care. All they care about is your experience-have you been published before?

When I was twenty years old, I decided to submit my stories for the first time to markets. After one year, I had accomplished absolutely nothing but rejections. To be fair, I had gone to the top markets, the ones that offered hundreds of dollars for any story. Not surprisingly, they needed ground-breaking, flawless material, and I was still a newbie at writing. I then decided to switch tactics, and started with the markets who didn’t pay authors besides publication. A few weeks later I had achieved my first success, and it was the greatest feeling imaginable.  Over time those markets also helped to improve my grammar and story structure, and I learned a lot in the process. With a published background, it was now easier to submit to the more professional markets, and within a year and a half, I had gotten my first book accepted.

The moral of the story? Like any job, don’t start from the top. Start from the bottom, the beginning, and never, ever think that your writing is perfect. Like a carpenter or a welder, your work will never be perfect from the first day of the job. It takes time and effort to fine-tune your skills.

Natasha is kind enough to add a price to this month’s gift. Besides the grand price – a 50$ gift certificate on Amazon or a selection of the guest bloggers books -, we now also have a second price consisting of Natasha’s ebook War of the Soulites. Here is the blurb!

Renolds Osirus spent most of his life as an accountant. To his shock, his life-long dream of becoming a spaceship captain is suddenly granted, and before he can even celebrate, Earth is decimated by a race of mysterious and terrifying aliens. His new ship, the Vigilant, is transported to hostile territory.
Vigilant’s first officer, Marcus Collingway, is a terrorist leader and a mass murderer. Long believed dead, he suffers the crew’s wrath when he’s blamed for the attack on Earth. As Renolds investigates, he exposes a complex web of secrets and lies.
Now trapped on a crippled ship, can the captain and first officer work together to save the Vigilant from alien Soulites?
About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

2 responses to “First Year Tally – Natasha Bennett

  • Claire Gillian

    Ok, I have a particular fondness for any book featuring an accountant so this caught my eye as did the advice about not starting at the top. Great piece and sound advice. Thank you.

  • mish

    Some good , sound logic ~~ especially the part about starting off at ground level . Bottom line is ~ you have to crawl , walk , run and then sprint ~ in that order . Thank you .

Leave a Reply

